Athletics

Hope's athletic tradition embraces championships and scholar-athletes. Our coaches teach in the classroom and academic recognition and athletic accomplishment go hand-in-hand for our athletes.

As of 2012-13, Hope's intercollegiate teams had won 10 NCAA Championships and 34 MIAA Commissioner’s cups, for the best cumulative performance in the league’s 20 sports for men and women.

Hope, a Division III member, won 27 of the last 38 All-Sports Awards in the MIAA conference. iN 2012-13 Hope athletes and/or teams qualified for 10 NCAA championships.

High Spirits

Hope’s mascot is the Flying Dutchman, a nod to our Dutch heritage. Passion for our teams flies high, too. Fans deck out in orange and blue to fill DeVos Field House, one of the finest small college arenas in the nation. Several sports lead the nation in attendance.

Interested in playing a Division III sport at Hope?
Complete a recruitment questionnaire »

Men’s Teams and Coaches

Baseball Stu Fritz fritz@hope.edu
Basketball Matt Neil neil@hope.edu
Cross Country Mark Northuis northuis@hope.edu
Football Dean Kreps kreps@hope.edu
Golf Bob Ebels ebelsr@hope.edu
Lacrosse Michael Schanhals schanhals@hope.edu
Soccer Steve Smith sdsmith@hope.edu
Swimming & Diving John Patnott patnott@hope.edu
Tennis Steve Gorno gorno@hope.edu
Track & Field Kevin Cole cole@hope.edu

Women’s Teams and Coaches

Basketball Brian Morehouse morehouse@hope.edu
Cross Country Mark Northuis northuis@hope.edu
Golf Greg Stafford stafford@hope.edu
Lacrosse Tracy Benjamin benjamin@hope.edu
Soccer Leigh Sears sears@hope.edu
Softball Mary Vande Hoef vandehoef@hope.edu
Swimming & Diving John Patnott patnott@hope.edu
Tennis Adam Ford ford@hope.edu
Track & Field Kevin Cole cole@hope.edu

Co-Ed Team and Coach

Cheerleading Wes Wooley wooley@hope.edu