E-mail Account Deletion
graduates and other students who will not be taking classes at Hope
following the current semester/term.
Why is my account being deleted?
E-mail accounts are provided for current Hope College
students only. When you graduate or withdraw, your account
expires. We cannot provide accounts to non-students, even
for a fee.
When will this happen?
Students who are no longer enrolled in classes at Hope College following the
current semester or term will have their accounts deleted shortly after the
start of the following term. For example, if you graduate in May, your accounts
will be deleted in the Fall. This also applies to students who are withdrawing
from Hope - even on a temporary
re-enrollment in classes, new accounts
can be created. If your account is slated for deletion, you will receive
an e-mail from CIT several weeks in advance so that you may transfer your
messages to a new account.
What if I'm walking in the graduation ceremony - but will
be taking classes this summer or next semester?
Your accounts with Hope College will remain active until you stop taking classes.
If your name appears on upcoming enrollment reports, you will continue to have
an e-mail account.
But I'm not graduating until next year!
If you are not graduating from Hope and are actively enrolled in classes for
May Term, June Term, Summer Term or the subsequent spring/fall semester,
your accounts will not be deleted. If you are not enrolled for classes, but
account after the current semester for academic research
purposes, you may request an extension.
So how do I request an extension?
Use the extension request form to notify us
that you are continuing Hope College academic research with a faculty member.
will confirm your research status with that faculty member. Please also specify
a date when your accounts can be deleted.
But I am graduating! How will I get e-mail?
You should set up another e-mail account with a free
e-mail provider. Some of the most common are Windows
Live Hotmail, Yahoo!
Mail, and Gmail.
What about my old e-mail messages?
Before your Hope account is deleted, you can forward important messages from
it to a new e-mail address (see item above). Instructions for moving messages
from your 1HOPE account to a Gmail account can be found here.
Instructions for transferring Google docs
Unfortunately, because 1HOPE accounts use Google Apps there isn't a way to transfer your DOCS directly from your 1HOPE account to a Gmail account:
You will need to export them to a non-Google format, then re-upload them to your new account.
The procedure for doing this is to select multiple documents from the listing, then under the MORE menu select "Download". The result will be a ZIP file containing multiple documents. You can then unzip that file and upload the documents to your Gmail account.