hope college > academic departments > social sciences   

For Prospective Students <
Explore the Social Sciences <
Social Science Learned Societies <
Departments <
Research Policies <
Travel Procedures <
Newsletter <
Thursday, April 22, 2010

Annual Recognition Luncheon Honors Faculty

Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon in January. The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college's second semester. Several Social Science Division faculty were honored.

Recognized for 35 years of service were Jim Piers (sociology) and John Shaughnessy (psychology). Recognized for 25 years of service were Matt Neil (kinesiology) and Jim VanderMeer (kinesiology). Steve Smith (kinesiology) was honored for 20 years of service.

The "Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award" was presented to Scott Vander Stoep (psychology).

The "Technology Innovation Award" was presented to Thomas Ludwig (psychology).

Faculty honored for serving on the college's Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: Debra Swanson (sociology, and committee director) and Lorna Hernandez Jarvis (psychology).

Acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were Kirk Brumels (kinesiology), Bob Eames (management), Kim Hawtrey (economics), Teresa Housel (communication), Stacy Jackson (management), and David Myers (psychology).

Members of the kinesiology faculty and staff honored for accomplishments as coaches of MIAA championship teams were Bob Ebels (men's golf), Brian Morehouse (women's basketball), the late Karen Page (women's tennis), John Patnott (men's swimming and diving), Becky Schmidt (volleyball) and Tiger Teusink (women's tennis).

Meg Frens (kinesiology) was honored for being named an officers of a professional association.

Faculty and other members of the campus community recognized for receiving honors and awards were Paula Booke (political science), Vicki-Lynn Holmes (mathematics and education), Roselyn Lee (communication), David Myers (psychology), Rich Ray (Dean for the Social Sciences), John Shaughnessy (psychology), Sonja Trent-Brown (psychology), and Steve VanderVeen (Center for Faithful Leadership; and economics, management and accounting).

The Phelps Scholars Program, directed by Professor of Psychology Charles Green, was recognized for having been honored as an exemplary diversity program in higher education by the Association of American Colleges and Universities.

Several faculty were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships, including Kirk Brumels (kinesiology), Maureen Dunn (kinesiology), Deirdre Johnston (communication), Leslie Muller (economics), Roger Nemeth (sociology), Rich Ray (Dean for the Social Sciences), Steve Smith (kinesiology), Christian Spielvogel (communication), and Charlotte vanOyen Witvliet (psychology).


September 2008   November 2008   December 2008   January 2009   February 2009   March 2009   June 2009   July 2009   August 2009   September 2009   November 2009   December 2009   March 2010   April 2010  

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?