/ Modern and Classical Languages Department

Faculty and Staff

Learning a new language works best when you’re able to collaborate, ask questions and practice. Our faculty of modern and classical languages have created an environment rich in the cultures we teach and speak.

Our offices hours are accessible outside of the regular class schedule, and we offer conversation classes, tutoring and cultural events with our native language assistants to provide more opportunity to practice your language skills.

Team members are listed alphabetically by last name. For general modern and classical language inquiries, please email stephensona@hope.edu or call 616-395-7570.

Faculty

  • A photo of Rich Bradley

    Rich Bradley

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentLecturer/M & C Languagesbradleyr@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 208 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • Audrey Cheng

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentLecturer/Languages

    Work616.395.7570

    Martha Miller Center 257 Columbia Avenue Floor 2 Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Dr. Sander deHaan

    Dr. Sander deHaan

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentProfessor of German & Dutch

    Work616.395.7560

    dehaan@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 218 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • Dr. Liliana Dorado

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7565

    dorado@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 227 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Dr. Renata Fernandez-Dominguez

    Dr. Renata Fernandez-Dominguez

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7314

    fernandez@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 225 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Dr. Brigitte Hamon-Porter

    Dr. Brigitte Hamon-Porter

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of French and Department Chair

    Work616.395.7132

    hamon@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 229 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Sylvia Kallemeyn

    Sylvia Kallemeyn

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7981

    kallemeyn@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 232 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Joshua Kraut

    Joshua Kraut

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssistant Professor of French

    Work616.395.7570

    kraut@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Dr. Stephen Maiullo

    Dr. Stephen Maiullo

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Classics

    Work616.395.7761

    maiullo@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 230 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • Christopher McGrath

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentVisiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7563

    mcgrath@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 208 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Melissa Mulder

    Melissa Mulder

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentInstructor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7566

    mulderm@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 214 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Dr. Pauline Remy

    Dr. Pauline Remy

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssistant Professor of French

    Work616.395.7933

    remy@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 221 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Joanne Tsai

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentLecturer

    Work616.395.7570

    tsai@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Melanie Zwyghuizen

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentLecturer/M&C Languages

    Work616.395.7570

    zwyghuizen@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

Staff

  • A photo of Habeeb Awad

    Habeeb Awad

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentInternational Student Advisor

    Work616.395.7608

    hawad@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 118 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Mandy Stephenson

    Mandy Stephenson

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentOffice Manager

    Work616.395.7570

    stephensona@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3698

Retired Faculty