/ Modern and Classical Languages Department

Faculty and Staff

Learning a new language works best when you’re able to collaborate, ask questions and practice. Our faculty of modern and classical languages have created an environment rich in the cultures we teach and speak.

Our offices hours are accessible outside of the regular class schedule, and we offer conversation classes, tutoring and cultural events with our native language assistants to provide more opportunity to practice your language skills.

Team members are listed alphabetically by last name. For general modern and classical language inquiries, please email stephensona@hope.edu or call 616-395-7570.

Faculty

  • A photo of Nancy Chamness

    Nancy Chamness

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssistant Professor of Germanchamness@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 210 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • Maria Dentel

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentLecturer in Modern and Classical Languages

    Work616.395.7563

    dentel@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 208 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Dr. Liliana Dorado

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7565

    dorado@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 227 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Delphine Duclos

    Delphine Duclos

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentLecturer

    Work616.395.7570

    duclos@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 208 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Dr. Renata Fernandez-Dominguez

    Dr. Renata Fernandez-Dominguez

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7314

    fernandez@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 225 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Dr. Brigitte Hamon-Porter

    Dr. Brigitte Hamon-Porter

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of French and Department Chair

    Work616.395.7132

    hamon@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 229 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Sylvia Kallemeyn

    Sylvia Kallemeyn

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7981

    kallemeyn@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 232 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Joshua Kraut

    Joshua Kraut

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssistant Professor of French

    Work616.395.7570

    kraut@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Dr. Stephen Maiullo

    Dr. Stephen Maiullo

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssociate Professor of Classics

    Work616.395.7761

    maiullo@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 230 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • Christopher McGrath

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAdjunct

    Work616.395.7563

    mcgrath@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 212 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • A photo of Melissa Mulder

    Melissa Mulder

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssistant Professor of Spanish

    Work616.395.7566

    mulderm@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center -Room 214 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3615

  • A photo of Dr. Pauline Remy

    Dr. Pauline Remy

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentAssistant Professor of French

    Work616.395.7933

    remy@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 221 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Min-Hui Sall

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentLecturer/Chinese

    Work616.395.7570

    sall@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 210 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

  • Yoshiko Tsuda

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentInstructor of Japanesetsuda@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423

Staff

  • A photo of Mandy Stephenson

    Mandy Stephenson

    Modern and Classical Languages DepartmentOffice Manager

    Work616.395.7570

    stephensona@hope.edu

    Martha Miller Center 205 257 Columbia Avenue Holland, MI 49423-3698

Retired Faculty