Awards for scholastic achievement and service have been presented to graduating Hope College seniors.     

   The awards honor students for achievement in
  specific areas of study and service.  The students were
  recognized during an honors convocation on Thursday, April
          The Southland Medal (Gerrit H. Albers Gold Medal),
  which is awarded to the outstanding woman of the senior
  class, was presented to Katherine Louise Drake of Rochester
          The winner of the John Schouten Award for the
  outstanding female student-athlete was Rebecca Jean Schmidt
  of Holland.  The Otto Vander Velde All Campus Awards were
  presented to Brandon Wyne Graham of Hudsonville and Joel
  Ryan Holstege of Grandville.   Amy L. Strassburger of Alto
  was presented the M. Harold Mikle Prize for Communication.
          Katherine Louise Drake of Rochester Hills was
  recognized as the recipient of a National Science Foundation
  Graduate Fellowship and All-USA College Academic Team
  recognition from "USA Today."  Technos International Prizes
  were awarded to Gabriela Lorena Deckinga of Petoskey and
  Martha Fenton Langmuir of Bloomfield Hills.
          Daniel Heisler of Holland received the Herman
  Miller Art Award.  The Patterson Memorial Prize in Biology
  was presented to Elayne Renee Provost of Allen Park.
          The Almon T. Godfrey Prize in Chemistry was
  presented to David William Brzezinski of Hudsonville.
  Katherine Louise Drake of Rochester Hills and Erin Elizabeth
  Schiller of Chelsea received duPont Company Awards for
  Research in Chemistry.  The American Institute of Chemists'
  Award was presented to Lloyd Jerome Simons of Bailey.
          Elizabeth Anne Freeman of Oxford was presented
  with the Lambda Pi Eta Book Award in communication; the
  Boundy Computer Science Award was received by Michael Wayne
  Thelen of Mason; and Anita Joy Van Engen Bateman of
  Glendora, Calif., was the winner of the Computer Science
  Senior Prize.
          Steven Robert DeVrieze of Midland was awarded the
  Allan C. Kinney Memorial Award, which is presented to the
  outstanding graduating senior majoring in economics and
  business administration.  The Outstanding Student in
  Management Accounting Award was presented to David J.
  Meulenberg of Grand Rapids.  Rebecca Anne Maitner of Grand
  Rapids received the Award for Outstanding Accounting
  Student.  Michael Edward Meeuwsen of Rockford received the
  Wall Street Journal Award.
          Elizabeth Marie Wesselink of Grand Rapids was the
  winner of the Marguerite E. Kinkema Special Education Award,
  while the winners of the Egbert Winter Education Awards were
  Megan Bos of Kalamazoo and Brandon Wyne Graham of
          The Clarence De Graaf English Awards were
  presented to Gabriela Lorena Deckinga of Petoskey and
  Matthew Kane Sterenberg of Hillsboro, Ore.  The Erika
  Brubaker '92 Awards for Proficiency in Literature were
  presented to Miriam Kathleen Beyer of Holland and Sufjan
  Stevens of Petoskey, while the Sandrene Schutt Award for
  Proficiency in Literature was presented to Amanda Suzanne
  Hill of Rochester.
          The Ray De Young History Prize was awarded to
  Matthew Kane Sterenberg of Hillsboro, Ore.
          Lisa S. Jutte of Clayton, Ohio, received the
  Lawrence "Doc" Green Award in Athletic Training.  Kristen
  Sondra Hosford of Grand Rapids and Daniel Paul Van Hekken
  received Dorothy and Russell Siedentop Awards, presented to
  outstanding members of the basketball teams.  Recipients of
  the William and Mabel Vanderbilt Sr. Family Awards in
  kinesiology were Tonia Sue Bruins of Zeeland, Julie Anne
  Holwerda of Wheaton, Ill., and Christopher J. Kline of
          Michael Alan Van Opstall of Hudsonville received
  the Albert E. Lampen Mathematics Prize.
          Several students were honored for achievement in
  the study of a foreign language.  Martin L. Landes Jr. of
  Hastings received the Eta Sigma Phi Book Prize, and the
  Marguerite Prins French Award was presented to Dana M.
  Andrews of Holland.  Patience J. Graybill of Leland was
  awarded the Barbara E. Geeting Memorial Award in German, and
  Sarah Elizabeth Gorter of Grand Rapids received the Laura
  Alice Boyd Memorial Award in German.
          The Delta Omicron Senior Honor Award was presented
  to Kristina Marie Eden of Kalamazoo.  Ryan G. Janus of Mt.
  Prospect, Ill., received the Robert W. Cavanaugh Senior
  Music Award.  The winners of the Roger Rietberg Chapel Choir
  Awards were Alison Jo Beukelman of Ellenville, N.Y., and
  Thomas Craig Goodhart of Kinsman, Ohio.
          The Senior Award for Nursing was given to Jamie
  Elizabeth Williams of Eaton Rapids, and the Miriam Joyce Van
  Eyl Award was presented to Kerri Lynn Hoffman of Portage.
          The Charles E. Lake Memorial Prize in Philosophy
  was presented to Jodi M. Felde of Newaygo.
          The Douwe B. Yntema Prizes in physics and
  engineering were awarded to Katherine Louise Drake of
  Rochester Hills and Joseph Charles Zupancic of Wyoming.
  Recipients of the James Dyke van Putten Political Science
  Prizes were Janet Elizabeth Day of Holland, Jodi Beth
  TenHarkel of Jenison and Carrie Elizabeth Tennant of
          Mark Steven LaChonce of McBain was awarded the
  American Bible Society Book Award, while Jill Renee Harkins
  of Webster Groves, Mo., was awarded the Pietenpol Prize.
  Maria Helene Seaman Webb of Charlevoix received the Senior
  Biblical Prize, while Matthew John Kuiper of Lansing was
  presented with the Sloan-Stegeman Mission Prize.   The John
  Richard Vander Wilt Awards in religion were awarded to Ann
  M. Barry of Midland, Katherine Marie Barnes of Tucson,
  Ariz., and Kathryn Ann Wing of Maple City.
          Jeanette Gustafson Memorial Gifts in social work
  were presented to Katherine Marie Reed of Jackson and Scott
  VanderWal of Grand Rapids.  Senior Sociology Awards were
  presented to Laura Elizabeth Myers of Holland and Beth Renee
  Volkers of Grandville, while Alexis Hayes Linscheid of
  Annandale, Va., received the Social Work Senior Award.
          The recipient of the Theatre Department Senior
  Prize was Sara Lynn Meengs of Muskegon, while Daniel Joseph
  Hoag of Kalamazoo received the Brad Williams Memorial Award.
  The Kent Medical Foundation Award was presented to Jonathan
  Elliot Charnin of Grand Rapids.