Caroline J. Newell, a Hope College junior from Reed City, has received a prestigious Goldwater Scholarship for the 1999-00 academic year.

          The scholarships were awarded by the Board of
  Trustees of the Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in
  Education Foundation to 304 undergraduate sophomores and
  juniors from the 50 states for the 1999-2000 academic year.
  The Goldwater Scholars were selected on the basis of
  academic merit from a field of 1,181 mathematics, science
  and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties
  of colleges and universities nationwide.
          It is the third year in a row that a Hope student
  has received one of the scholarships.
          "This is definitely a well-deserved award for
  her," said Dr. Nicole S. Bennett, assistant professor of
  chemistry, with whom Newell has conducted research during
  both the summer and school year.
          "She has the qualities that a scientist needs,"
  Bennett said.  "She's curious.  She doesn't seem to get
  frustrated by the trial-and-error approach."
          Bennett also complimented Newell for her maturity,
  and as a quick learner who works well independently.
          Newell is pursuing a double major in biology and
  chemistry.  She intends to go on to graduate school for her
  doctorate, anticipating a career in research at a
          During the college's Honors Convocation in the
  spring of 1997, she received the First-Year Chemistry Book
  Award.  In the spring of 1998, she received the college's
  Undergraduate Award for Achievement in Organic Chemistry, in
  addition to a Phi Alpha Theta Sophomore Book Award in
          Newell was recently named to the college's chapter
  of Mortar Board, and has been named to the college's dean's
  list.  She is the daughter of Keith and Bette Newell of Reed
  City, and is a 1996 graduate of Reed City High School.
          The Goldwater Scholarship provides up to $7,500
  per year to help cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and
  room and board.
          Newell is one of seven students native to
  Michigan--some are attending out-of-state schools--to
  receive one of the scholarships.  In addition to Hope, the
  Michigan institutions to have students honored are Eastern
  Michigan University, Michigan State University and the
  University of Michigan at Ann Arbor.
          Of the students selected, 179 are men and 125 are
  women, and virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. as their
  degree objective.  A total of 17 are mathematics majors, 184
  are science majors, 42 are majoring in engineering, four are
  majoring in computer science, and 57 have dual majors in a
  variety of mathematics, science, engineering and computer
          The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed
  agency established by Public Law 99-661 on Nov. 14, 1986.
  The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry M. Goldwater
  was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to
  pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural
  sciences and engineering.
          The foundation, now in its 11th year, has to date
  awarded 2,711 scholarships worth approximately $28 million.
  The trustees plan to award about 300 scholarships for the
  2000-01 academic year.