Awards for scholastic achievement and service have been presented to graduating Hope College seniors.

The awards honor students for achievement in specific areas of study and service. The students were recognized during the college's annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 28.

The Academy of American Poets Awards were presented to Morgan L. Machledt of Indianapolis, Ind., and Melissa S. Sexton of Kalamazoo. Jozette M. Dunlap of West Olive received the American Association of University Women Award.

The M. Harold Mikle Prize for Communication was presented to Michelle A. Walker of Brighton. Stephanie L. Judd of Frankenmuth received the Southland Medal (Gerrit H. Albers Gold Medal), which is awarded to the outstanding woman of the senior class.

The winner of the John Schouten Award for the outstanding female student-athlete was Adelynn V. Villmann of Houghton. The Otto Vander Velde All-Campus Award was presented to Jacob R. Schrock of Clarksville.

The Paul G. Fried Prize in International Education was presented to Divya Ganta of Ruwi, Oman. Hannah R. Schroeder of Holland was honored for Music Teachers National Association Student Achievement Recognition. Technos International Prizes were awarded to Kelly M. Nelson of Rockford and Emily J. Schwartz of Commerce Township.

Steffanie L. Rosalez of Alma received the Herman Miller Art Award.

Jennifer S. Yamaoka of Zeeland received the Biology Service Award. The Patterson Memorial Prize in Biology was presented to John E. Drake of Rochester Hills.

The American Institute of Chemists Award was presented to Heather M. Mentzer of Wichita, Kan. Hope Chemistry Senior Awards for Research were presented to Abby L. Buchwalter of Hopewell Junction, N.Y.; Michael H. Cortez of Cadillac; Kathryn L. Ewing of Dearborn; Brian H. Mott of Zeeland; and Ashleigh M. Sartor of Plymouth. The Almon T. Godfrey Prize in Chemistry was presented to Jill S. Pinter of Belleville.

Lindsay Watterson Brown of Boise, Idaho, and Helen R. Fylstra of Hinsdale, Ill., were presented with the Lambda Pi Eta Book Awards in communication.

The Boundy Computer Science Award was received by William N. Sumner of Midland. Christopher M. Johnson of White Lake and Joshua J. Morse of Cadillac were the winners of the Computer Science Senior Prizes.

Phillip J. Morse of Dearborn Heights and Zachary J. Barricklow of Brooklyn were awarded the Allan C. Kinney Memorial Awards, which are presented to the outstanding graduating seniors majoring in economics and business administration. Andrea R. Gramm of Bremen, Ind., received the Award for Outstanding Accounting Student. The Economics, Management and Accounting Faculty Recognition Awards in Memory of C. Kendrick Gibson were presented to Jonathan M. Currey of Fowlerville; Jillian M. English of Grandville; Lisa M. Filler of Fort Wayne, Ind.; Sergei N. Kotelnikov of Holland; and Mary E. Miceli of Aurora, Ill. The Outstanding Student in Management Accounting Award was presented to Jennifer F. Beers of Williamston.

Megan Scholten of Zeeland was the winner of the Marguerite E. Kinkema Special Education Award, while the winners of the Egbert Winter Education Awards were Eric J. DeBoer of Holland and Erin E. Koopman of Byron Center. Catherine Morrison '89 Senior Science Education Awards were presented to Nina M. Healy of Northfield, Minn., and James R. Sorge of Bloomfield Hills, while the Catherine Morrison '89 Senior Math Education Award was presented to Heidi L. Libner of Park Ridge, Ill.

The Erika Brubaker '92 Awards for Proficiency in Literature were presented to Stephanie L. Judd of Frankenmuth and Joshua J. Morse of Cadillac. The Clarence De Graaf English Awards were presented to Christopher E. McGarvey of East Peoria, Ill., and Melissa S. Sexton of Kalamazoo. The Sandrene Schutt Awards for Proficiency in Literature were presented to Lindsey J. Greene of Jackson and Erica D. Heeg of Pekin, Ill.

The Tulip City Gem and Mineral Club Award was presented to Michelle Y. Knapman of Edwardsburg.

The Kent Medical Foundation Award in health sciences was presented to R. Ross Coleman of Grand Rapids.

The Ray De Young History Prizes were awarded to Anna J. Cook of Holland and Jordon M. VandeBunte of Alto, while Joshua M. Wiersma of LaGrange, Ill., received the Miles Award in Law.

Joseph H. Dykstra of Zeeland received the Lawrence "Doc" Green Award in Athletic Training. Adelynn V. Vilmann of Houghton received the Dorothy and Russell Siedentop Award. Recipients of the William and Mabel Vanderbilt Sr. Family Awards in kinesiology were Heidi L. Libner of Park Ridge, Ill.; Holly M. Patterson of Kalamazoo; Emily Schlitz of Potterville; and Sarah K. Smith of Dearborn.

Michael H. Cortez of Cadillac and Andrew T. Wells of Midland received the Albert E. Lampen Mathematics Prizes.

Students honored for achievement in the study of a foreign language included Andrew T. Wells of Midland, who received the Eta Sigma Phi Book Prize. Kathryn L. Ewing of Dearborn received the Laura Alice Boyd Memorial Award in German, and Kelly M. Nelson of Rockford was awarded the Barbara E. Geeting Memorial Award in German.

The Delta Omicron Senior Honor Award was presented to Rachel J. Trautwein of Wheaton, Ill. Robert W. Cavanaugh Senior Music Awards were presented to Elizabeth R. Johnson of St. Anthony, Minn., and Andrew J. Meyers of Churchville, N.Y. The winner of the Roger Rietberg Chapel Choir Award was James R. Sorge of Bloomfield Hills. Named to the Pi Kappa Lambda National Music Honorary were Elizabeth K. Irvine of Rochester, N.Y.; Elizabeth R. Johnson of St. Anthony, Minn.; Abbie J. Matthews of Fort Wayne, Ind.; Andrew J. Meyers of Churchville, N.Y.; Laura D. Steed of Traverse City; and Joseph D. Turbessi of Nunica.

The Christian Service Award and the Miriam Joyce Van Eyl Award in nursing were presented to Laura J. van Hofwegen of Kalamazoo. The Senior Award for Nursing was given to Craig R. Preston of Holland. Sigma Theta Tau nursing recognition was awarded to Jozette M. Dunlap of West Olive; Lisa A. Elenbaas of Hamilton; Betsy K. Getman of South Haven; Amanda G. Glas of Kalamazoo; Stephanie L. Hartsell of Bloomfield Hills; Marcella L. McNee of Kalamazoo; Carrie W. Kurz of Westlake, Ohio; Craig R. Preston of Holland; and Andrea K. Sieklucki of Kalamazoo. The Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Nursing Student Performance was presented to Betsy K. Getman of South Haven.

The Charles E. Lake Memorial Prize in Philosophy was presented to Zachary J. Garrett of Spring Lake.

The Douwe B. Yntema Prizes in physics and engineering were awarded to Jennifer A. Folkert of Zeeland and Jill S. Pinter of Belleville.

Recipients of James Dyke van Putten Political Science Prizes were Timothy J. Fry of Grand Rapids; Zachary J. Garrett of Spring Lake; Samuel C. Lien of Midland; and Joshua M. Wiersma of La Grange, Ill.

Christopher M. Marlink of Holland received the Biblical Studies Award. The Sloan-Stegeman Mission Prizes were presented to Julianne Carrier of Ann Arbor and Nicole R. Lantz of Dyer, Ind. John Richard Vander Wilt Awards in religion were presented to Matthew J. Waterstone of Holland and Sophie L. Williams of Stansbury Park, Utah. Daniel G. Opperwall of Grosse Pointe received the Verhey Award for Excellence in Scholarship.

Jeanette Gustafson Memorial Gifts in social work were presented to Meghan N. Carrier of Pinedale, Wyo.; Anna C. DeHaan of Grand Rapids; Rebecca J. Greenland of Grand Rapids; and Krista M. Hughes of Rochester Hills. The Senior Sociology Award was presented to Randall J. Owen of Byron Center, while Jill E. Davis of Wyoming received the Social Work Senior Award.

The recipients of the Theatre Department Senior Prizes were Katherine E. Seifert of Plymouth and Abigail M. Youngerman of Royal Oak. Lisa M. Warmus of Rochester, N.Y., received the Brad Williams Memorial Award.