The return of nine letterwinners bodes well for the 2009 Flying Dutchmen. Coach Steve Gorno begins his 17th season at the helm of the program.

The pre-season roster of 12 players includes two freshmen, two sophomores, three juniors and five seniors. Co-captains of the team will be seniors Zach Huber of Holland, Mich. (West Ottawa HS), John Pelton of Rock Hill, S.C. (Midland, Mich. HS), and John Schlotz of Kirkwood, Mo. (Kirkwood HS).

Pelton in 2008 was voted the most valuable player in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) and competed in the NCAA Division III national tournament. Huber and Schlotz have each lettered three seasons.

Other returning letterwinners include sophomore Bradley Boelkins of Ada, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS); senior Tyler Depke of Grayslake, Ill. (Grayslake Community HS); junior John Gardner of Granville, Ohio (Granville HS); junior Michael Garland of Kohler, Wisc. (Kohler HS), senior Zach Hoernschmeyer of Plymouth, Mich. (Canton HS); and junior Jeff Vredenburg of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Northern HS).

Sophomore Jonathan Lautz of Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton North HS) was a squad member in 2008. Players new to the team are freshmen Alex Hughes of Hudson, Ohio (Hudson HS) and Kyle McKey of Stevenville, Mich. (Lakeshore HS).

The 2008 Flying Dutchmen were presented the Team GPA Award for outstanding academic performance by the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) and were honored  by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) as scholar athletes.