The Flying Dutch are comprised of a balance of returning letterwinners and freshman prospects that could put them in a position to contend for a Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) championship.

The pre-season roster of 27 members includes 17 returning letterwinners.  There are 10 freshman prospects joining five sophomores, six juniors and six seniors.

Coach John Patnott has guided Hope's swimming and diving programs for 29 years.  The Flying Dutch have been conference champions 11 of the past 18 years.

Co-captains of the team are seniors Claire Piester of Columbia, Mo. (Hickman HS) and Christina Vogelzang of Holland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS). Piester is a three-time All-MIAA honoree. Vogelzang also received All-MIAA honors as a junior.

Sophomore Sarah Sohn of Arlington Heights, Ill. (Prospect HS) is also an All-MIAA returnee. She is the defending conference champion in the marathon 1,650-yard freestyle and was 16th at the NCAA Division III championships in the 400-yard individual medley. As a freshman she had team-best performances in the 500, 1,000, 1,650 freestyle events, 200-yard butterfly and 400-yard individual medley.

Returning swimmers who had team-best performances in 08-09 include sophomore Chelsea Wiese of Rochester, Mich. (Rochester Adams HS), 200-yard individual medley; junior Ashley Jasperse of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS), 100-yard butterfly;  senior Claire Piester, 100-yard and 200-yard breatstroke.

Other returning letterwinners include sophomore Rebecca Danforth of Elkhart, Ind. (Concord HS), junior Ann Frisella of Arlington Heights, Ill. (Buffalo Grove HS), junior Anna Heckenliable of Fort Collins, Colo. (Fort Collins HS), sophomore Lisa Heyboer of Zeeland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS), junior Aria Kieft of Spring Lake, Mich. (Spring Lake HS), sophomore Elizabeth Nelis of Holland, Mich. (West Ottawa HS), senior Kelsey Pierson of Indianapolis, Ind. (North Central HS), senior Kathryn Schewe of Berkley, Mich. (Berkley HS), junior Alicia Tuuk of Lansing, Ill. (Munster HS), junior Jessica Warner of Geneva, Ill. (Geneva HS), senior Kate Williams of Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton-Warrenville HS), and senior Whitney Willson of Commerce Township (Walled Lake Western HS).