HOLLAND -- The winners of athletic letters for Hope College winter sports teams have been announced by athletic directors Tim Schoonveld and Eva Dean Folkert.

Hope teams captured two of the four Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) winter sports championships.  Hope was champion in women's basketball and men's swimming/diving.  Men's basketball and women's swimming/diving each finished in second place.

Hope is tied for first place in the MIAA Commissioner's Cup standings after the winter season.  The Commissioner's Cup is presented to the MIAA member school with the best cumulative standings in the 18 sports sponsored by the MIAA.

Sixteen athletes lettered in their sport for a fourth consecutive year.  They are Jenny Cowen (baskeball); Philana Greene (basketball); Philip Heyboer (swimming); Brandon King (swimming); Ryan Nelis (swimming); Claire Piester (swimming); Matthew Ray (swimming); Manuel Reynoso (cheerleading); James Richardson (swimming); Mitchell Ruch (swimming); Bart Schrader (cheerleading); Cody Tozer (swimming); Christina Vogelzang (swimming); Aaron Welsch (swimming); Kate Williams (swimming); Whitney Willson (swimming).

Men's Basketball Letterwinners

Will Bowser***, junior from Midland (H.H. Dow)
Peter Bunn**, junior from Lansing (Lansing Christian)
Adam Dickerson*, junior from Muskegon (MonaShores)
Josh Holwerda*, freshman from Gallup, N.M. (Rehoboth Christian)
Scott Jungling**, senior from Zeeland (Zeeland West)
Nathaniel King**, sophomore from Sterling Heights (Henry Ford II)
David Krombeen**, sophomore from Grandville (Grandville)
Jared Mysliwiec*, freshman from Wyoming (Tri-Unity Christian)
Logan Neil*, sophomore from Holland (West Ottawa)
Chris Nelis**, senior from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Ryan Ross*, sophomore from St. Joseph (Michigan Lutheran)
Nate Snuggerud*, freshman from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Ty Tanis***, junior from Jenison (Jenison)
Andy Venema**, junior from Hudsonville (Tri-Unity Christian)

Women's Basketball Letterwinners

Olivia Allore*, freshman from Muskegon (Muskegon Catholic Central)
Ashley Bauman*, freshman from Manistee (Manistee Catholic Central)
Erika Bruinsma***, junior from Grand Rapids (Grand Rapids Christian)
Allie Cerone**, sophomore from Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton North)
Jenny Cowen****, senior from Dexter (Dexter)
Miranda DeKuiper***, junior from Ludington (Ludington)
Liz Ellis*, freshman from Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids)
Lauren Geers**, junior from Scottville (Mason County Central)
Philana Greene****, senior from Grandville (Grandville)
Meredith Kussmaul*, freshman from Hartland (Hartland)
Courtney Kust*, freshman from Cincinnati, Ohio (CincinnatiHillsChristianAcademy)
Rachael Kutney***, junior from St. Clair Shores (Lakeshore)
Jillian Nichols*, freshman from Brighton (Brighton)
Brooke Nienhuis*, sophomore from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Abby Phillips**, junior from Wayland (Wayland)
Carrie Snikkers***, junior from Hudsonville (Unity Christian)

Men's Swimming/Diving Letterwinners

Steven Ansilio**, sophomore from Western Springs, Ill. (LyonsTownship)
AJ Baar*, freshman from Allendale (Unity Christian)
Nathan Blauw*, sophomore from Holland (West Ottawa)
Nick Boersma*, freshman from Holland (West Ottawa)
Gregg Elhart*, freshman from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Karl Fleck*, freshman from Sandusky, Ohio (Sandusky)
Patrick Frayer**, sophomore from Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids)
Ray Gaskell*, freshman from Oscoda (Oscoda Area)
Josh Grabijas*, freshman from Howell (Howell)
Nick Hazekamp*, freshman from Janesville, Wisc. (Joseph A. Craig)
Phil Heyboer****, senior from Zeeland (Holland Christian)
Michael Huisingh**, sophomore from Holland (Holland)
Brandon King****, senior from Willowbrook, Ill. (Hinsdale Twsp. Central)
Thomas Knecht**, sophomore from Grand Rapids (Grand Rapids Christian)
Geoff Ludema*, freshman from Ada (Grand Rapids Christian)
Ryan Nelis****, senior from Holland (West Ottawa)
Joesph Nielson*, freshman from Mt.Vernon (Mt.Vernon)
Benjamin O'Dell**, sophomore from Oswego, Ill. (Oswego Community)
Matt Ray****, senior from Holland (Holland)
James Richardson****, senior from Mt. Vernon, Ohio (Mt.Vernon)
Aaron Rittenhouse**, sophomore from Ft. Wayne, Ind. (Homestead)
Andrew Rose**, sophomore from Holland (Grandville)
Mitch Ruch****, senior from Zeeland (Zeeland West)
Jeffrey Shade**, sophomore from Davison (Davison)
Clayton Sommers***, junior from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Nicholas Stone***, senior from Westland (John Glenn)
Cody Tozer****, senior from Sturgis (Sturgis)
Austin Veltman***, junior from Ada (Forest Hills Eastern)
Mark Waterstone**, junior from Holland (Holland)
Aaron Welsch****, senior from St. Peters, Mo. (Ft. Zumwalt South)
Brian Yount**, sophomore from Franklin, Ind. (Franklin Community)

Women's Swimming/Diving Letterwinners

Amand Black*, freshman from Lancaster, Ohio (Lancaster)
Megan Bowersox*, freshman from West Chester, Ohio (Lakota West)
Laura Cameron*, freshman from Ann Arbor (Ann Arbor Pioneer)
Rebecca Danforth**, sophomore from Elkhart, Ind. (Concord)
Ann Frisella***, junior from Arlington Heights, Ill. (Buffalo Grove)
Anna Heckenliable***, junior from Fort Collins, Co. (Fort Collins)
Lisa Heyboer**, sophomore from Zeeland (Holland Christian)
Erin Holstad*, freshman from Traverse City (Traverse City West)
Ashley Jasperse***, junior from Grand Rapids (Forest Hills Central)
Aria Kieft***, junior from SpringLake (SpringLake)
Sarah Krueger*, freshman from Wixom (Walled Lake Western)
Lauren Maslyk*, freshman from Canton (Plymouth)
Kelsey Pierson***, senior from Indianapolis (North Central)
Claire Piester****, senior from Columbia, Mo. (Hickman)
Kathryn Schewe***, senior from Berkley (Berkley)
Kyleigh Sheldon*, freshman from Hastings (Hastings)
Sarah Sohn**, sophomore from Arlington Heights, Ill. (Prospect)
Claire Triner*, freshman from Lake Zurich, Ill. (LakeZurich)
Alicia Tuuk***, junior from Lansing, Ill. (Munster)
Christina Vogelzang****, senior from Holland (Holland Christian)
Jessica Warner**, junior from Geneva, Ill. (Geneva)
Libby Westrate*, freshman from Grandville (Grandville)
Chelsea Wiese**, sophomore from Rochester (Rochester Adams)
Kate Williams****, senior from Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton-Warrenville)
Whitney Willson****, senior from CommerceTownship (Walled Lake Western)

Basketball Cheerleader Letterwinners

Derek Bradley***, junior from Roscommon (Roscommon)
Nicole Claucherty*, freshman from Albion (Albion)
Jessica Early*, junior from Vestal, N.Y. (Vestal Central)
Laura Glas*, sophomore from Kalamazoo (Kalamazoo Christian)
Olivia Haines*, freshman from Gowen (Greenville)
Caroline Haley*, freshman from Lowell, Ma. (Lowell Catholic)
Caramen Hirsch***, junior from Highmore, S.D. (Highmore)
Manuel Reynoso****, senior from Winfield, Ill. (Wheaton North)
Bart Schrader****, junior from Centerville (Centerville)
Jordyn Sheldon*, freshman from Zeeland (Zeeland East)
Jessica Snitko*, freshman from Davision (Davison)