The department of music at Hope College will present a chamber music concert on Thursday, April 22, at 7:30 p.m. in Wichers Auditorium of Nykerk Hall of Music.

The public is invited. Admission is free.

The concert will highlight the chamber music happenings at Hope College with groups of two, three or four playing music written specifically for their instrument groups. Playing in this chamber concert will be the Woodwind Quintet, the Brass Ensemble, the Flute Choir, the Saxophone Quartet and a piano duet.

Pianists Brent Smith, a sophomore from Owosso, and Sarah Kuhn, a freshman from Portage, will perform a duet from "Dolly Suite, Op. 56," by Gabriel Faure.

The Saxophone Quartet will perform "Saxophone Quartet," by Philip Glass.  The members of the quartet are junior Emily Brower of Hudsonville, tenor saxophone; sophomore Shelby Peterson of Ann Arbor, alto saxophone; senior Nicholas Van Voorst of Holland, baritone saxophone; and senior Katie Zigterman of Aurora, Ill., soprano saxophone.

The woodwind quintet will perform "Overture to the Magic Flute," by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.  The quintet features freshman Christine Springer of Ann Arbor, flute; freshman Meagan Elinski of Jackson, oboe; junior Theresa Klepitsch of Park Ridge, Ill., clarinet; freshman Jessica Wells of Indian Creek, Ill., bassoon; and freshman Matthew Brown of Flint, horn.

The Flute Choir will perform "Memories of East Tennessee Rhodeden Dance," by Alan Scott.  The ensemble features freshman Faith DeVries of Stillman Valley, Ill.; junior Ashley Garza of Holland; sophomore Christine Gobrogge of Frankenmuth; sophomore Colleen Kolba of Arlington Heights, Ill.; freshman Allyson McMeeking of Homer; sophomore Robert Nash of Niles; junior Elizabeth Nieusma of Okemos; senior Michelle Pascoe of Clarkston; sophomore Kalli Shades of Cannon Falls, Minn.; freshman Amanda Schuiling of Zeeland; sophomore Emily Van Til of Holland; sophomore Danielle Yeadon of Stewartville, Minn.; and junior Jillayne Zblewski of Allegan.

Finally, the brass ensemble will play selections from "West Side Story," by Leonard Bernstein.  The ensemble features sophomore Erin Johnson of Slidell, La., sophomore Tim Nagi of Freeport and sophomore Bethany Stripp of Richland, trumpets; freshman Matthew Brown of Flint and sophomore Julia DeGroot of Grand Rapids, horns; sophomore Jeffrey Sweers of Jenison, trombone; and sophomore Mike Debowski of Venetia, Pa, tuba.

Nykerk Hall of Music is located in the central Hope campus at the former 127 E. 12th Street between College and Columbia avenues.