Provided by Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association

ROYAL OAK, Mich. -  The Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association has announced that it will partner with the NCAA in its Division III identity initiative.

Beginning Sept. 1 and running through the entire 2010-11 academic year, the MIAA will highlight student-athletes, coaches and teams through a variety of stories that will appear on the conference Web site that highlight the MIAA Division III intercollegiate athletic experience.

These stories, which will be produced by MIAA member schools, will celebrate how student-athletes balance their passion for sport with commitment to excellence in the classroom and service to their communities, as they prepare themselves to be tomorrow's leaders.

The NCAA earlier this year launched the Division III identity initiative to tell about the unique athletic experience at the NCAA Division III level. The DIII initiative lists six key attributes that our student-athletes stand for. These attributes include:

° Proportion  - Appropriate relation of academics, athletics and other passions

° Comprehensive Learning - Opportunity for broad-based education and success

° Passion - Playing for love of the game, competition, fun and self-improvement

° Responsibility - Development of accountability through personal commitment and choices

° Sportsmanship - Fair and respectful conduct toward all participants and supporters

° Citizenship - Dedication to developing responsible leaders and citizens in our communities

The NCAA Division III identity initiative page can be found at, or by clicking on the Division III identity logo on the left side of this page.

The MIAA will also be highlighting another category with these stories, MIAA Athletic Excellence. This category will feature examples of excellence from throughout the conference's past and present, ranging from individual accomplishments to team championships at the conference and national level.

Hope College Identity Website

Founded in 1888, the MIAA is the nation's oldest collegiate athletic conference. It consists of nine member institutions - Adrian College, Albion College, Alma College, Calvin College, Hope College, Kalamazoo College, Olivet College, Saint Mary's College and Trine University.