L-R: Mark Karam & Brian Lynn

Two senior members of the 2012 Hope College football team are being honored by the National Football Foundation for academic excellence.

Mark Karam of Grosse Pointe Woods (Warren DeLasalle HS) and Brian Lynn of Holland (Holland HS) have been named to the 2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

Karam was a three-year starter at a safety while Lynn started as a junior and senior at fullback. They were co-captains of the 2012 team. Karam majored in exercise science and Lynn was a communications major.

"Brian and Mark have been exceptional leaders for our football program," said coach Dean Kreps. "They lived by example, accomplishing on and off the field in true NCAA Division III form. Both have been great students, great athletes and great people. Our program and the college have benefited greatly from their presence."

The National Football Foundation established the Hampshire Honor Society in 2007 as a means of promoting the scholar-athlete.  This year the organization is recognizing 703 players from 259 colleges and universitiies. The program was created through the establishment of an endowment from Jon F. Hanson, chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies.  Mr. Hanson is also a former member of the Hope College Board of Trustees.