The Hope College women’s basketball team has the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Most Valuable Player for the eighth time in team history and its third MIAA Defensive Player of the Year.

Sophomore forward Maura McAfee of Midland (Midland HS) has been selected MVP by the league’s coaches, while senior guard Megan Kelley of Rockford (Rockford HS) has been chosen MIAA Defensive Player of the Year. Both were on the All-MIAA First Team.

Senior guard Brittany Berry of Grand Rapids (Catholic Central HS) claimed All-MIAA Second Team Honors.

“It reflects to what we always talk about: put the team first,” Hope coach Brian Morehouse said. “Any individual accolades, should they be deserving, will result, especially due to the team’s success. “If you put the team first all season long, a lot of times you are reward individually.”

McAfee averaged a double-double in league play while leading the Flying Dutch to an outright MIAA championship with a 16-0 league record.

Hope (27-0) clinched the MIAA’s automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Tournament by winning last week’s league tournament. The Flying Dutch will play Wisconsin Lutheran in their national opener on Friday at 5 p.m. CST at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wis.

McAfee averaged 14.2 points and 10.0 rebounds during MIAA play. She topped the MIAA in steals (2.5 per game), finished second in blocked shots (1.4) and was third in field goal percentage (54 percent).

McAfee joins past league MVPs from Hope: Carrie Snikkers (2009), Bria Ebels (2006), Amanda Kerkstra (2003 and 2001), Lisa Hoekstra (2000(, Kristin Carlson (1995) and Dina Disney Hackert (1990).

Kelley averaged 9.8 points, 4.4 rebounds, 1.9 assists and 1.9 steals per league game this season.

She follows Liz Ellis as MIAA Defensive Players of the Year. Ellis claimed the award in 2012 and 2011.

Berry averaged 8.8 points, 2.9 assists, 2.1 rebounds and 1.4 steals per game this season. She had 2.6 assists for every one turnover in MIAA play.