Hope College quarterback Michael Atwell is part of a record-setting membership group in the 2014 National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society.

The senior from Geneseo, Ill. (Geneseo HS), is one of 836 college football players from 267 schools in all NCAA and NAIA divisions to be chosen.

To qualify for NFF Hampshire Honor Society membership, student-athletes must:

• Be a starter or significant contributor in their last year of athletic eligibility at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university.

• Achieve a 3.2 cumulative grade point average through the entire course of undergraduate study.

• Meet all NCAA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

A biology and chemistry major at Hope, Atwell started at quarterback for three seasons. He finished third in Flying Dutchmen history with 6,094 passing yards while compiling a 19-11 record that included two 7-3 seasons.

Atwell was recently given the Otto van der Velde All-Campus Award presented to a senior man for outstanding contributions to the college in athletics, scholarship and participation in student activities.

In March, Atwell was awarded a NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship that he will use toward medical school at the University of Illinois.

Atwell was a Division III recipient of the Morley Fraser Award given by the Michigan Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame to a collegiate football player who demonstrates academic achievement, football ability and leadership.