The Hope College Department of Theatre will present “Jane Eyre: The Musical” on Friday-Saturday, Nov. 11-12, and Wednesday-Saturday, Nov. 16-19, at 7:30 p.m. in the DeWitt Center main theatre.

Jane Eyre“Jane Eyre: The Musical” is based on the classic novel by Charlotte Bronte. The story begins during orphaned Jane Eyre’s tragic childhood, in which she is physically and emotionally abused by her aunt and cousin, attends a boarding school with a vicious headmaster, and must cope with the death of her best friend, Helen. As an adult, Jane applies to become a governess, receiving one offer from Thornfield Hall. At Thornfield, Jane mentors a young French girl named Adele, who is cared for by Edward Rochester. Jane quickly falls in love with Mr. Rochester only to discover a horrible secret on their wedding day. The 2012 musical is an adaptation following the life of independent, intelligent and honest Jane as she battles hardship to find the middle ground between conscience and passion.

“As a musical, Jane Eyre is appropriately lush, romantic and Gothic,” said Daina Robins, who is the production’s director as well as a professor of theatre and department chair. “The title figure has always intrigued me—and I hope that others find her story as compelling as I do.  She is a woman who does not necessarily fulfill her society’s expectations of her gender or class nor match its definition of beauty.  I have always appreciated Jane’s non-conformism.”

In addition to Robins, the production team for “Jane Eyre: The Musical” includes faculty members Linda Dykstra as choral director, Christopher Fashun as orchestra conductor, Linda Strauf as piano accompanist, Linda Graham as choreographer, Jean Bahle as dialect coach, Michelle Bombe as costume designer, and Perry Landes as lighting and sound designer. Staff members Andrew Souders and Paul Anderson serve as costume shop manager and technical director. Guest artist David Leugs serves as scenic designer. The stage manager for the production is senior Aaron McEachran of Golden, Colorado, and the assistant stage managers are freshman Gracen Barth of Dallas, Texas, and junior Anna Jones of Ann Arbor. Junior Nils Fritjofson of West Granby, Connecticut, serves as assistant lighting designer.

The cast includes guest artist Jeremiah Postma; sophomore Jose Angulo of San Francisco, California; senior Annie Bulthuis of Grand Rapids; freshman Teresa Cameon of South Lyon; sophomore Megan Clark of Clymer, New York; junior Mikayla Contreras of Puebla, Mexico; sophomore Brianne Crouse of Oxford; freshman Ben Douma of Crawfordsville, Indiana; sophomore Brynne Fritjofson of Granby, Connecticut; freshman Katie Joachim of Dearborn; junior Alexander Johnson of Plymouth; junior Kierney Johnson of Seattle, Washington; junior Rachel Kennedy of Naperville, Illinois; freshman Maxwell Lam of Holland; sophomore Olivia Lehnertz of Bloomfield Hills; senior Zach Makowski of Allen Park; freshman Emily Sandstedt of Lake Zurich, Illinois; senior Laura Schmidt of Yorktown, Indiana; junior Izzy Schonfeld of Oxford; freshman Jacob Starr of Fort Wayne, Indiana; sophomore Paige Trujillo of Holland; junior Deana Velandra of Tipton; and junior Elijah Yang of Eugene, Oregon.

Tickets are $10 for regular admission, $7 for senior citizens, Hope faculty and staff, and free for Hope College students and children 18 and under. Tickets are available at the ticket office in the Events and Conferences Office located downtown in the Anderson-Werkman Financial Center (100 E. Eighth St.). The office is open weekdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and can be called at (616) 395-7890. Tickets are also available online.

The DeWitt Center is located at 141 E. 12th St., facing Columbia Avenue between 10th and 13th streets.