/ Center for Diversity and Inclusion

Women of Color and Senior Recognition

Open to the entire campus community, Women of Color and Senior Recognition celebrates the accomplishments of graduating seniors. This event consists of awards and recognitions of graduating seniors as well as presentations by four outstanding female seniors. 

Senior Recognition Awards

Global Awareness and Involvement Award

This award is in recognition and appreciation of a commitment to learning about international perspectives and for an exceptional understanding of one's role as a global citizen, as well as for actively engaging in opportunities that encourage peers to develop global awareness and understanding.

Recent Recipients
  • 2017: Ireana Cook, Monica Celina Muñoz
  • 2016: Micah Gargala, Mikar Lopez 
  • 2015: Alyssa Guzman, Benedict Fils-Aime
  • 2014: Amelia "Mia" Townsend, Arnaud Muhimpundu
  • 2013: Sa'eed Husaini, Brenda Cuellar, Blake Soulet, Crystal Hooper
Diversity and Inclusion Award

This award is in recognition and appreciation of contributions to building a diverse and inclusive campus community, including leadership in multicultural student organizations, hosting, and participating in panels and other leadership roles in the area of diversity and inclusion. 

RECENT Recipients
  • 2017: Nathaniel Nelson, Audrey Jihee Park, Mary Salguero Palma
  • 2016: Jordan Hill, Paulena Khorn
  • 2015: Laura Rodriguez
  • 2014: Claudia Armijo, Monica Chhum
  • 2013: Sherri Smith
Extra Mile Award

This award is in recognition and appreciation for positive energy brought to the student body and the Hope community, as well as sacrificial service and diligence in promoting the institution's mission, vision and goals.

RECENT Recipients
  • 2017: Angelique Gaddy, Julian Gonzalez
  • 2016: Carl Deeg, Israel Hipolito
  • 2015: Ashton Shelton
  • 2014: Divya Dhailwal, Sasha Balcazar
  • 2013: La'Shawn Donelson
Academic Excellence Award

This award is in recognition of excellent scholastic record, commitment to lifelong learning and positive impact on the lives of others.

RECENT Recipients
  • 2017: Ireana Cook, Christopher Da Silva, Emilio V. Isasi, Joshua Chun Wah Kam, Nathan Long, Brenda Mora, Elizabeth Mummert, Reinie Deone Thomas
  • 2016: Ivy Keen, Roudeland Metellus
  • 2015: Miriam Thomas
  • 2014: Selina Long, Sheri McCormack, Sara Sanchez
  • 2013: Hanna Ogawa, Faith DeVries, Rachel Elzinga
Student Leadership, Service and Advocacy Award

This award is in recognition and appreciation for outstanding service and leadership to the student body and Hope College, as well as significant contributions and dedication to diversity, equity and inclusion.

RECENT Recipients
  • 2017: Christopher Da Silva, Jean Luc Miralda, Tyson Walton
  • 2016: Sarah Harvin, Jesus Romero, Alexis Rivers
  • 2015: Jacqueline Herrera, Amena Wallace
  • 2014: Kelsey Herbert, Kian Hashemi-Rad, Kate Pritchard
Christ-Centered Award

This award is in recognition of faithful, Christ-centered and servant leadership as well as the ways in which one has modeled and lived out his or her faith at Hope College.

  • 2017: Natalie A. Brown, Kirsten Kettler, Sehyun Park, Colin Whitehead
  • 2016: Betel Mulat
  • 2015: Izamar Mandujano, Andre Gilchrist
  • 2014: Chikara Soto