The opening concert in the 2000-01 Hope
College Faculty Recital Series will take place on Sunday,
Oct. 1, at 4 p.m. in Wichers Auditorium of Nykerk Hall of
Music, and will run the gamut from Bach to Bernstein.

The fall portion of the series is dedicated to the
commemoration of the 250th anniversary of the death of
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), and each of the three
programs will feature one work by the renowned composer.

Pianist Wesley Ball opens the first concert with a
transcription by Mary Howe of Bach's "Schafe Koennen Sicher
Weiden"--"Sheep May Safely Graze."

Next will be a work by Bach's contemporary, George
Frederic Handel: the four-movement Sonata in G minor, Op.
2, No. 8, written for two cellos and keyboard. Performing
the piece will be Richard Piippo and Robert Ritsema,
cellists, with Charles Aschbrenner at the piano.

The next work, Sonata in B-flat Major, K. 292, by
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, is written for bassoon and cello.
Piippo will be joined by bassoonist Steven Ward in the duo.
A newly formed ensemble, the "Anchor Trio," will
conclude the recital with Leonard Bernstein's Trio for
Violin, Cello and Piano (1937). This early work in 20th
century American composer Bernstein's career will be played
by violinist Mihai Craioveanu, pianist Joan Conway and
cellist Richard Piippo. The Anchor Trio will soon embark on
a short concert tour in eastern Michigan.

The next two concerts this fall will be on Sunday,
Oct. 22, and Sunday, Nov. 12. The dates for the spring
semester are Sunday, Jan. 28; Sunday, Feb. 4; Sunday, Feb.
18; and Sunday, March 11. All concerts will be at 4 p.m. in
Wichers Auditorium of Nykerk Hall of Music, located in the
middle of campus along the former 12th Street between
College and Columbia avenues. Admission to every recital is