Honors have been presented to Hope College swimmers by the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).

Hope won the men's seasonal championship while the women's team finished in second place.

Hope is coached by John Patnott who has now guided his teams to Coach Patnott has now guided his teams to 29 MIAA championships (19 women, 10 men). He is the winningest active MIAA coach and second alltime among all MIAA coaches.

Two Hope athletes were presented the league's most valuable swimmer honor -- sophomore Ryan Nelis and junior Brittaney Reest, both from Holland, Mich. and graduates of West Ottawa High School.  Nelis was a triple winner at the league championship meet (200 IM, 100 Butterfly and 200 Butterfly) while Reest was the league backstroke champion (100 and 200).  Her 200 time was a conference record.

Nelis is joined on the All-MIAA men's team by sophomore Phil Heyboer of Zeeland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS); sophomore Matt Rose of Grandville, Mich. (Grandville HS); sophomore Mitch Ruch of  Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland West HS); senior Charles VanderBroek of Holland, Mich. (Holland HS); and junior Ryan Vogelzang of Holland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS).

Joining Reest on the All-MIAA women's team were junior Laura Ansilio of Western Springs, Ill. (Lyons Township HS); freshman Ashley Jasperse of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS); sophomore Claire Piester of Columbia, Mo. (Hickman HS); freshman Alicia Tuuk of Lansing, Ill. (Munster HS); and sophomore Katie Williams of Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton-Warrenville HS).

Hope champions at the MIAA men's championships included: Ryan Nelis, 200 individual medley (1:58.72), 100 butterfly (:49.90), and 200 butterfly (1:52.05); Ryan Vogelzang, 50 freestyle (:20.92) and 100 freestyle (:46.27); and Phil Heyboer, 400 IM (4:03.55, MIAA record) and 200 backstroke (1:53.02). Hope also won three freestyle relays -- 200 (Ryan Vogelzang, junior Stephen Kurti of Battle Creek/BC Lakeview HS, Charles VanderBroek and Matt Rose), 1:23.65; 400 (Charles VanderBroek, Ryan Vogelzang, Ryan Nelis and Matt Rose), 3:04.29; and 800 (Charles VanderBroek, Ryan Vogelzang, Phil Heyboer and Ryan Nelis), 6:56.32.

Hope champions at the MIAA women's championships included: Kate Williams, 100 butterfly (:58.03); Brittaney Reest, 100 backstroke (:58.11) and 200 backstroke (2:06.39, MIAA record); and Laura Ansilio, 100 freestyle (:53.16).  Hope also won two relays -- 400 medley (Brittaney Reest, freshman Angie Griffore of Holland, Mich./Holland HS, Kate Williams and Laura Ansilio), 3:56.23; and 400 freestyle (Laura Ansilio, senior Trisha Meier of Cedar Park, Tex./Naperville, Ill. North HS, Kate Williams and sophomore Christina Vogelzang of Holland, Mich./Holland Christian HS).