Sixty-eight of Hope College's graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

Sixty-eight of Hope College's graduating seniors and recent graduates have been elected to the Zeta of Michigan chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest scholastic honorary society.

For more than 200 years, election to Phi Beta Kappa has been a recognition of intellectual capacity well-employed, especially in acquiring an education in the liberal arts and sciences. The objectives of learning encouraged by Phi Beta Kappa include intellectual honesty and tolerance, range of intellectual interests and understanding, not merely knowledge.

Hope faculty who are members of Phi Beta Kappa have elected students in recognition of their high grade point average in liberal arts courses, their exceptional scholarly ability, and their independent and creative scholarly activities.

A formal initiation ceremony and reception will take place on Sunday, April 20, at 2 p.m. in the Maas Center auditorium. The honorees will also be recognized during the college's Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 24, at 7 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

Hope College is one of only 276 colleges and universities in the country, and one of eight in Michigan, to have a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Hope's chapter was chartered in 1971.


Hope College Phi Beta Kappa Honorees

Michelle Lynn Affholter; Grand Rapids
Stelios C. Alvarez; Grand Rapids
Branden Wade Bacon; Sheboygan, Wis.
Rebecca Lynn Baker; Lafayette, Colo.
Holly Nicole Bekius; Spring Lake
Lauren M. Berka; Brookfield, Wis.
Jennifer Christine Birkenholz; West Des Moines, Iowa
Kimberly Anne Boelkins; Ada
Precious Hannah Campbell; Indianapolis, Ind.
Brianne Leigh Carpenter; Midland
Matthew David Cooke; Berrien Springs
Benjamin Andrew Crumpler; Nashville, Tenn.
Rachel Anne Daley; Cleveland, Ohio
James Edward Daly; Chelsea
Evelyn Claire Daniel; Dearborn
John Peter Dulmes; Oostburg, Wis.
Emilie Joy Dykstra; Zeeland
Kristin Kay Ellsworth; Davison
Lindsay Ann Ellsworth; Davison
Nicholas Edward Engel; Grand Blanc
Lauren Nicole Eriks; Grand Rapids
Amanda Valerie Friedline; Howell
Erin Kay Gillette; Grand Ledge
Scott Matthew Glaser; Ann Arbor
Seth Bernard Gray; Sheridan
Lindsey Allene Hall; Paris
Tera Ann Hasbargen; Rhinelander, Wis.
Bradley J. Haveman-Gould; Holland
Anne Elizabeth Hoekstra; Kalamazoo
Maya Frances Holtrop; Beverly Hills
Lisa Ann Kallemeyn; Crete, Ill.
Jon F. Kay; ThreeRivers
Megan Marie Kleinheksel; Zeeland
George William Klupchak; Naperville, Ill.
Katelyn Ashley Konyndyk; Kentwood
Ashley Ann Korte; Howell
Marina Vladimirovna Kovalyuk; Moscow, Russia
Casey James Lamb; Brookfield, Wis.
Nicole Therese Leger; Ann Arbor
Lindsey Rose Manthei; Petoskey
Nicholas John Marra; Waldwick, N.J.
Jennifer Lynn Mastenbrook; Kalamazoo
Katherine Valentine Masterton; Grand Rapids
Samantha Lynn Miller; Gaylord
Keith William Mulder; Portage
John Henry Noffke; Naperville, Ill.
David Andrew Nyitray; Holland
Maria Christine O'Connell; Ann Arbor
Clayton Phillip Orr; Ash Flat, Ark.
Christian Gunther Piers; Holland
Meredith Lyn Praamsma; Holland
Martha Elizabeth Precup; BoyneCity
Erica Anne Quigley-Tomasik; Carmel, Ind.
Kristin Marie Raley; Addison, Ill.
Vidhan Shumsher Jung Bahadur Rana; Kathmandu, Nepal
Julie Christine Robinson; Warsaw, Ind.
Jennifer Christine Ruprich; Clarendon Hills, Ill.
Erin Margaret Schumaker; Bowling Green, Ky.
Trevor William Shull; Macomb
Krista Marie Stanton; Lansing
Katherine Rachel Stritzke; Granville, Ohio
Christopher Michael Turbessi; Nunica
Elena Maria Valle; Marshall
David Louis Visser; Creswell, Ore.
Aimin Michelle Walsh; St. Joseph
Joshua Dale Warner; Huntertown, Ind.
Sarah Joon Watkins; Bloomfield Hills
Leah Adelaide Wicander; Mount Pleasant