A jazz chamber ensembles concert at Hope College will feature the Blue Note, Verve, Vanguard and Impulse ensembles on Monday, April 11, at 7:30 p.m. in Wichers Auditorium of Nykerk Hall of Music.

The public is invited.  Admission is free.

° The Blue Note Ensemble is coached by Steve Talaga, instructor of music, jazz, piano and composition. The ensemble will perform "Ornithology," by Charlie Parker; "Road Song," by Wes Montgomery; "Stolen Moments," by Oliver Nelson; and "Afro Blue" by Mongo Santamaria. The Blue Note Ensemble consists of freshman Blake Daugherty of Muskegon, drums; sophomore Kin Fong of Northbrook, Ill., alto sax; freshman Luke Ibach of Eden Prairie, Minn., bass; sophomore Justin Makowski of Detroit, piano;  and junior Kyle McLellan of Fort Wayne, Ind., woodwind.

° The Verve Ensemble is coached by Mike Van Lente, instructor of jazz percussion.  The ensemble will be performing "Now's The Time," by Charlie Parker; "Jordu," by Duke Jordan; "Ask Me Now," by Thelonius Monk; and "St. Thomas," by Sonny Rollins. The Verve Ensemble consists of freshman Nathan Axdorff of Grand Rapids, alto sax; freshman Forrest Dodson of Kalamazoo, bass; freshman Michael Graverson of Hamilton, guitar; junior Zach Pedigo of Chippewa Falls, Wis., piano; junior Shelby Peterson of Ann Arbor, alto sax; and sophomore Wesley Rieth of Three Oaks, drums.

° The Vanguard Ensemble is coached by Tom Lockwood, instructor of saxophone. The ensemble will be performing "In The Mood," by Garland/Razaf; "I'm Beginning To See The Light," by George/Hodges/Ellington/James; "Forest Flower," by Charles Lloyd; and "Footprints," by Wayne Shorter. The Vanguard Ensemble consists of freshman Luke Ibach of Eden Prairie, Minn., bass; senior Lucas Johnson of Cadillac, tenor sax; senior Caleb Murray of Half Moon Bay, Calif., piano; freshman Amelia Simms of Nashville, Tenn., drums; and freshman Tyler Vuillmot of DeWitt, alto sax.

° The Impulse Ensemble is coached by senior Nate Roberts of West Milton, Pa.  The ensemble will be performing "Autumn Leaves," by Joseph Kosma; "Black Orpheus," by Louis Bonfi; and "Canteloupe Island," by Herbie Hancock. The Impulse Ensemble consists of freshman Matt Costello of Holland, bass; freshman Guillermo Flores of Holland, alto sax; freshman Joshua Holicki of Coldwater, drums; freshman Daniel Langholz of Ramstein, Germany, trombone; and freshman Alex Mouw of Holland, piano.

The April 11 concert is among the highlights of the college's April 11-15 celebration of national Undergraduate Research Week, during which Hope is featuring the importance of student research and creative work college-wide.  Additional information about the week, including the complete schedule, is available online at www.hope.edu/resources/naturweek/Home.htm

Nykerk Hall of Music is located in the central Hope campus at the former 127 E. 12th Street between College and Columbia avenues.