Eleven Hope College soccer players have been named to the

all-conference teams of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic

Association (MIAA).

Two of the honorees also received individual honors from the league's

coaches. Senior goalkeeper Logan Neil of Hoalland (West Ottawa HS) has

been named the men's most valuable player for the second consecutive

year and freshman midfielder Tarwo Konbloa of East Kentwood (East

Kentwood HS) is being honored as the newcomer of the year.

Neil becomes the fourth Hope player to receive MIAA MVP honors twice,

joining Glenn Swier (1974-75), Kevin Benham (1984-85), and Dan

Tresslar (2006-07). Hope players have received the MVP honor a total

of 12 times. This fall Hope allowed just seven goals over 16 league

games (regular season and league tournament). For the season, Neil's

goals-allowed average was 0.64. The team recorded 13 shutouts,

including one stretch of six consecutive league victories. He has 29

career shutouts heading into this weekend's NCAA tournament.

Joining Neil on the All-MIAA men's first team are  senior back David

Whitaker of Vicksburg (Vicksburg HS), senior midfielder Shaun

Groetsema of Augusta (Galesburg Augusta HS), and sophomore forward

Nick Heyboer of Grand Haven (Grand Haven HS). Whitaker and Groetsema

are being honored for a second time.

Hope's All-MIAA second team men's honorees are sophomore back Grant

Neil of Holland (West Ottawa HS), freshman midfielder Tarwo Konbloa of

East Kentwood (East Kentwood HS), and junior forward Jason Muller of

Petoskey (Petoskey HS).

In women's soccer, Hope's honorees are all on the second team --

senior forward Danielle Petzak of Zeeland (Zeeland West HS), sophomore

forward Cara Johnson of Chelsea (Chelsea HS), freshman forward Erin

Jipping of Holland (West Ottawa HS), and junior defender Kylie Clark

of Noblesville, Ill. (Noblesville HS).