Hope College honored faculty and staff members for service to the college and other professional activity during the annual faculty recognition event coordinated by the Provost’s Office, which took place on Tuesday, Jan. 10, in the Maas Center auditorium.

The college presented awards to members of the faculty or staff; honored professors for service anniversaries at Hope; and welcomed back faculty who had been on fall sabbaticals.  The event also celebrated those with notable professional activity during the past year including completing doctorates, book publications, creative performances and exhibitions, athletic championships, external honors and awards, appointment to endowed professorships and external grants — the latter totaling more than $6.4 million during 2022.

Named Towsley Research Scholars were Brooke Odle (engineering) and Lauren Slone (psychology).

The Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Jill VanderStoep (mathematics and statistics).

The Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award was presented to Peter Gonthier (physics).

The Provost’s Award for Service to the Academic Program was presented to Kelly Jacobsma (library).

The Motoichiro Oghimi Global Courage Award was presented to Janice Gibbs (history) and Jim Van Heest (philanthropy and engagement).

The Excellence in Advising Award was presented to Doug Braschler (education).

Several members of the faculty were honored for service anniversaries:

20 Years:

Airat Bekmetjev (mathematics)

Mark Pearson (mathematics)

Gloria Tseng (history)

Katherine Sullivan (art and art history)

25 Years:
Joseph LaPorte (philosophy)

Roger Veldman (engineering)

30 Years:
Stu Fritz (kinesiology)

Phil Munoa (religion)

35 Years:
Vicki Isola (biology)

Kelly Jacobsma (library)

Mark Northuis (kinesiology)

Will Polik (chemistry)

Todd Steen (economics and business)

Joanne Stewart (chemistry)

Linda Strouf (music)

40 Years:
Peter Gonthier (physics)

45 Years:
Kathleen Verduin (English)

The four faculty welcomed back following sabbaticals were:

Christopher Fashun (music)
Rich Ray (kinesiology)
Todd Steen (economics)
Jeff Tyler (religion)

The complete program listing all of those who were recognized is available online.

The Faculty Development section of the Provost Office’s website includes additional information about the Towsley Research Scholar program and the service and excellence awards.