/ Sustainability

Holland-Hope College Sustainability Institute

HHSI logoCultivating a Sustainable Campus, Community, and Future.

Together Hope College, the City of Holland and Holland Board of Public Works developed the Sustainability Institute to support outreach, education and practices geared toward creating a more sustainable community.


Our vision is a healthy and economically vibrant community that promotes environmental stewardship and mutual respect for people and the planet.    


Our mission is to foster collaborative efforts to infuse sustainability into the minds and practices of the campus community and the greater Holland area.  


The purpose of the Sustainability Institute is to support growing efforts to encourage, engage, educate and drive sustainable culture in water and air quality, energy efficiency, land use and environmental innovation using a sustainability framework evaluation process and other best practices.

The Institute grew out of an education and outreach task force, one of seven citizen-led task forces launched in conjunction with 2010 Holland Community Energy Plan.

  • Become a new environmental policy innovator
  • Become a clearinghouse for sustainability information
  • Become a research center for new sustainability best practices
  • Make a difference — replicate and grow sustainability success in the region
The Sustainability Institute is a partnership between:

Initial funding was secured through matching funds from the “Local Sustainability Matching Fund – a project of the Funders’ Network for Smart Growth and Livable Communities” and an award from the Community Foundation of Holland/Zeeland.