Several Hope College students participated in the 1998 Michigan Intercollegiate Honors Band, which presented a concert at Calvin College on Saturday, Feb. 7.

          Hope had 17 students in the 90-member band, which
  included students from Adrian, Albion, Alma, Calvin,
  Cornerstone, Grand Valley, Hope and Spring Arbor.  The
  band's members were chosen from lists submitted by
  conductors at the participating schools.
          The participating students were:  freshman Annie
  Becks (flute) of Grayling; senior Alison Beukelman (flute)
  of Ellenville, N.Y.; junior Todd DeBoer (euphonium) of
  Muskegon; freshman Stephanie Fink (bassoon) of Canton, Ill.;
  senior Miriam Garcellano (French horn) of Canton, Mich.;
  freshman Nicole Groenheide (alto saxophone) of Portage;
  sophomore Beth Hunt (clarinet) of Portage; junior Shana
  Katje (percussion) of Allegan; and freshman Joel Koedyker
  (baritone saxophone) of Grand Haven.
          Also:  senior Michael Lemorie (percussion) of
  Howell; sophomore Barclay Martin (clarinet) of Westwood
  Hills, Kan.; sophomore Keri Moore (clarinet) of Lansing;
  freshman Doug Mulder (trombone) of Holland; sophomore Josh
  Rasdall (trumpet) of Durango, Colo.; freshman Brandy Schenck
  (bass clarinet) of Grand Ledge; junior Amanda Schneider
  (clarinet) of Birmingham; and freshman Paul VanderLaan
  (trumpet) of Lombard, Ill.
          The Michigan Intercollegiate Honors Band presents
  a concert each year.  The participants spend the day
  rehearsing together, as preparation for their concert in the
          The band is led by a guest conductor each year.
  This year the conductor was  Dr. Craig Kirchoff of the
  university of Minnesota.