The post-season honors for Hope College basketball standout Joel Holstege have begun.

Holstege, who led the Flying Dutchmen to a second place finish in the NCAA Division III men's basketball tournament this past weekend, has been named a first team Division III All-American by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) and Chevrolet-Chevy Trucks.

The team is selected in voting conducted by NABC member coaches across the country. General Motors is a member of the NABC Corporate Team and the title sponsor of the NABC All-America program.

Holstege has also been named the NABC Division III Great Lakes District player of the year. He earlier was voted the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) most valuable player for the second consecutive year. He was voted to the Final Four all-tournament team as both a sophomore and senior.

A graduate of Convenant Christian High School, Holstege had an amazing collegiate career. The Flying Dutchmen won four consecutive conference (MIAA) championships and went to the NCAA tournament every season with Final Four appearances in 1996 and 1998. Hope's record during Holstege's four seasons was 105-14.

Holstege went into the Hope record book as the career leader for games played (118), three-point baskets (181) and assists (567). He averaged 13.1 points per game over his career while finishing with 429 rebounds, 301 steals and 119 blocked shots.

He becomes just the second Hope player to achieve NABC All-America status. Hope's other honoree was Chip Henry in 1984.

NABC Great Lakes All-District Teams
First Team
Joel Holstege, Hope (Player of the Year)
Ryan Gorman, Wooster, Ohio
Jeremy Thompson, Ohio Northern
Artie Taylor, John Carroll, Ohio
Mark Heidorf, John Carroll, Ohio
Jason Rusnak, Denison, Ohio

Second Team
Aaron Shipp, Mount Union, Ohio
Kevin Sensabaugh, Ohio Northern
Ben Geerling, Albion
Ryan Brown, Washington & Jefferson, Pa.
Hollis Edwards, Adrian

NABC Division III All-America Teams
First Team
Mike Nogelo, Williams, Mass.
Joel Holstege, Hope
Brent Niebrugge, Illinois Wesleyan
Rob Scott, Rowan, N.J.
Mike Schantz, Hamilton, N.Y.
Andy Panko, Lebanon Valley, Pa.
Ryan Harrigan, Univ. of South, Tenn.
Ben Hoffman, Wisc.-Platteville

Second Team
Damien Hunter, Alvernia, Pa.
Ryan Gorman, Wooster, Ohio
Jason Sibley, Franklin, Ind.
Danel Allen, Jersey City, N.J.
Greg Acunto, St. Lawrence, N.Y.
Demarcus Morrison, Averett, Va.
Khris Silveria, Salem State, Mass.
Devean George, Augsburg, Iowa