A total of eight voice students taught by members of the Hope College music faculty earned honors during the statewide auditions held by the Michigan Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS), held at Wayne State University on Saturday, April 4.

          The honorees included seven Hope students and one
  area high school student.
          NATS is the professional association for voice
  teachers.  Approximately 250 contestants from around the
  state, from high school age through the graduate level and
  "continuing education" level, competed in a variety of
          Megan Hicks, a junior from Trabuco Canyon, Calif.,
  earned first place in the college junior women division.
  Patricia Rhiew, a sophomore from Farmington Hills, earned
  first place in the college sophomore women division.
          Tracy Miller, a freshman from Gurnee, Ill., earned
  first place in the first-year college women division.
  Sophomores Jill Bennink of Holt and Holly Vaughn of Traverse
  City tied for third place in the college sophomore women
          Three students received Honorable Mentions:
  Meredith Arwady, a sophomore from Kalamazoo, in the college
  sophomore women division; Ann Barry, a senior from Midland,
  in the college senior women division; and Tom Crisp, a
  senior at West Ottawa High School, in the high school
  musical theatre division.
          Hope faculty members with whom the students have
  worked include Linda Dykstra, Margaret Kennedy-Dygas,
  Elizabeth LaGrande and Stuart Sharp.