Awards for scholastic achievement and service have been presented to graduating Hope College seniors.

          The awards honor students for achievement in
  specific areas of study and service.  The students were
  recognized during an honors convocation on Thursday, April
          The Southland Medal (Gerrit H. Albers Gold Medal),
  which is awarded to the outstanding woman of the senior
  class, was presented to Amanda Lee Schneider of Birmingham.
  The American Association of University Women Award was
  presented to Courtenay R. Michmerhuizen of Holland.
          The winner of the John Schouten Award for the
  outstanding female student-athlete was Rebecca Joy Timmer of
  Pella, Iowa.  The Otto Vander Velde All Campus Award was
  presented to Adam David Paarlberg of Alto.   Amanda Lee
  Schneider of Birmingham and Palesa P. Mazamisa of
  Rondebosch, South Africa, were presented the M. Harold Mikle
  Prizes for Communication.
          Kevin Wayne Paulisse of Grandville was recognized
  as the recipient of a National Defense Science and
  Engineering Graduate Fellowship.  Technos International
  Prizes were awarded to Karen N. McKeown of Ann Arbor and
  Julie Kristen Meyers of Wheaton, Ill.
          Shanna Claire Ten Clay of Grandville was honored
  as recipient of a United States Air Force Health Professions
          Daniel Jacob Patterson of Holland and Jeffrey
  Allen Trytko of Mount Morris, Ill. received the Herman
  Miller Art Awards.  David (Travis) Williams of Holland
  earned the Biology Service Award.  The Patterson Memorial
  Prize in Biology was presented to Jason Kohl Roberts of
          The Almon T. Godfrey Prize in Chemistry was
  presented to Kevin Wayne Paulisse of Grandville.  Rebecca
  Joy Timmer of Pella, Iowa, received the duPont Company Award
  for Research in Chemistry.  The American Institute of
  Chemists' Award was presented to Lori Jean Guse of
          Jill Suzanne Leatherman was presented with the
  Lambda Pi Eta Book Award in communication.  The Boundy
  Computer Science Award was received by Nathan Oostendorp of
  Zeeland; and James Nathan Vanderhyde of Comstock Park was
  the winner of the Computer Science Senior Prize.
          Teresa Renee Musselman of St. Louis and Adam David
  Paarlberg of Alto were awarded the Allan C. Kinney Memorial
  Awards, which are presented to the outstanding graduating
  seniors majoring in economics and business administration.
  The Outstanding Student in Management Accounting Award was
  presented to Kimberly Sue Bos of Kalamazoo.  David S.
  DeHommel of Jenison and Elizabeth L. Yared of Grand Rapids
  received the Awards for Outstanding Accounting Students.
  Nikolai I. Petrakov of Kazanlak, Bulgaria, received the Wall
  Street Journal Award.
          Sarah Lyn Van Spronsen of Grand Rapids was the
  winner of the Marguerite E. Kinkema Special Education Award,
  while the winners of the Egbert Winter Education Awards were
  Gregory Adam Kobylak of Troy and Melissa Durbin Manchester
  of Hartland.
          The Clarence De Graaf English Award was presented
  to Andrew Lang of Plainwell.  The Erika Brubaker '92 Awards
  for Proficiency in Literature were presented to Christina
  Marie Malkowski of Free Soil and Jill Marie Pierson of
  Batavia, Ill.  The Sandrene Schutt Award for Proficiency in
  Literature was presented to Jodie Leigh Grabill of Grant.
          The Tulip City Gem and Mineral Awards were
  presented to Erik John Hiemstra of Wyoming and Kimberly Lei
  Lake of Dublin, Ohio.
          The Ray De Young History Prize was awarded to Ryan
  J. Ondersma of Holland, while James Matthew Hilmert of Fort
  Wayne, Ind., received the Miles Award in Law.
          Tasha Ann Guild of Eaton Rapids and Andrew John
  Norden of Jenison received the Lawrence "Doc" Green Awards
  in Athletic Training.  Renee Mae Carlson of Hastings and
  Christopher Vander Slice of New Era received Dorothy and
  Russell Siedentop Awards, presented to outstanding members
  of the basketball teams.  Recipients of the William and
  Mabel Vanderbilt Sr. Family Awards in kinesiology were
  Andrew Joseph Fate of Kalamazoo, Jay Benjamin Leitz of
  DeWitt, Matthew Todd McPherson of Otsego, Matthew Allen
  Putnam of Greenville, Sarah Marie Sexton of Frankfort, Ill.,
  and Heather Dawn Velting of Byron Center.
          James Nathan Vanderhyde of Comstock Park received
  the Albert E. Lampen Mathematics Prize.
          Several students were honored for achievement in
  the study of a foreign language.  Ryan Edward Shaw of West
  Branch received the Eta Sigma Phi Book Prize, and the
  Marguerite Prins French Award was presented to Julie Kristen
  Meyers of Wheaton, Ill.  Jason Robert Divozzo of Oak Park
  was awarded the Barbara E. Geeting Memorial Award in German,
  and Julie Helene Twietmeyer of Canton received the Laura
  Alice Boyd Memorial Award in German.
          The Delta Omicron Senior Honor Award was presented
  to Caroline Elizabeth Olds of Portage, who also received the
  Robert W. Cavanaugh Senior Music Award.  The winner of the
  Roger Rietberg Chapel Choir Award was Geoffrey David Abbas
  of Rochester, N.Y.
          The Senior Award for Nursing and the Christian
  Service Award for Nursing were given to Christina Joy
  Kaminskas of Grand Rapids, and the Miriam Joyce Van Eyl
  Award was presented to Rachel Dawn Kemink of Grandville.
          The Charles E. Lake Memorial Prize in Philosophy
  was presented to Michael Gerald Cross of Petoskey.
          The Douwe B. Yntema Prizes in physics and
  engineering were awarded to Mary Kathleen MacDermaid of
  Vassar and Eric John Wondergem of Johnson City, Tenn.
  Recipients of the James Dyke van Putten Political Science
  Prizes were Robb Evan Harmsen of Hamilton, Palesa P.
  Mazamisa of Rondebosch, South Africa, Sarah J. Rutherford of
  Downers Grove, Ill., and Brittan James Strangways of
          Kevin Lee DeYoung of Jenison was awarded the
  American Bible Society Book Award, while Joshua Marlin Vis
  of Holland was awarded the Pietenpol Prize.  Joshua David
  Metzler of Chelsea received the Senior Biblical Prize, while
  Kerri Lynn Haveman of Zeeland was presented with the Sloan-
  Stegeman Mission Prize.  Robert Floyd Klouw of Vero Beach,
  Fla., and Amy Elizabeth Rife of Hartland were awarded the
  John Richard Vander Wilt Awards in religion.
          Jeanette Gustafson Memorial Gifts in social work
  were presented to Mary Elizabeth Wacker and Cherrylynn Marie
  Outcalt, both of Indianapolis, Ind.  The Senior Sociology
  Awards was presented to Katherine G. Bawinkel of Holland,
  while Joy Rebecca Hankamp of Marne received the Social Work
  Senior Award.
          The recipients of the Theatre Department Senior
  Prizes were Geoffrey David Abbas of Rochester, N.Y., and
  David Karsten Theune of Spring Lake.  Christina Marie
  Malkowski of Free Soil received the Brad Williams Memorial
          The Kent Medical Foundation Award was presented to
  Todd Patrick Chassee of Wyoming.