Hope College has swept the most valuable swimmer honors in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).

Senior Betsy VandenBerg of Beverly Hills, Mich. (Southfield Christian HS) and junior Josh Boss of Jenison, Mich. (Jenison HS) have been selected the most valuable swimmers in a season-ending vote of coaches.

They are among 14 Hope swimmers and divers voted to the All-MIAA teams. The Hope teams finished second in their respective MIAA standings.

VandenBerg is being honored as women's league MVP for the second time in her career. This year she was triple winner at the league championships capturing first place in the 200-yard individual medley, and the 100-yard and 200-yard breaststroke events. She won the gold medal in the breaststroke events four consecutive years. She went on to win the NCAA Division III national championships in the 200-yard breaststroke for the second consecutive year and was silver medalist in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Boss was the co-most valuable swimmer as a sophomore. This year he was the league champion in both the 100-yard and 200-yard breaststroke for the third consecutive year. He is the two-time defending national Division III champion in the 200-yard breaststroke.

Joining VandenBerg as a four-time All-MIAA swimmer is senior Chris Dattels of Wilmette, Ill. (New Trier HS).

Hope's representatives to the All-MIAA men's team are:

Joshua Boss*** (Junior from Jenison/Jenison HS)
Chris Dattels**** (Senior from Wilmette, Ill./New Trier HS)
Tim DeHaan* (Sophomore from Haslett/Haslett HS)
Ross Geurink* (Freshman from Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS)
Ian Kobes* (Sophomore from Holland/Holland HS)
Chris Roecker** (Sophomore from Battle Creek/Lakeview HS)
Brian Slagh** (Sophomore from Holland/Zeeland HS)
Scott Vroegindewey** (Senior from Kalamazoo/Portage Central HS)

Hope's representatives to the All-MIAA women's team are:

Audrey Arnold* (Freshman from Richmond, Ind./Richmond HS)
Kelly Parker* (Sophomore from Battle Creek/Lakeview HS)
Hannah Rapson* (Freshman from Iowa City, Ia./Iowa City HS)
Michelle Smith* (Freshman from Olympia, Wash.)
Betsy VandenBerg**** (Senior from Beverly Hills/Southfield Christian HS)
Erin VandenBerg** (Sophomore from Beverly Hills/Southfield Christian HS)

* denotes number of years All-MIAA