Hope College students earned a variety of honors during statewide competition held at Grand Valley State University by the Michigan Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing on Saturday, April 6.

The Hope students won one first place award, two second place awards, one third place award, one fourth place award and one honorable mention.

Abbie Matthews of Fort Wayne, Ind., won first place in the Freshman Women's Division.

Joshua Brandenburg of Columbus, Ohio, took second in the Musical Theater category, and Andrew Meyers of Churchville, N.Y., won second in the Freshman Men's category.

Alyson Payne of Three Oaks won third in Junior Women.

Phillip Pratt of Flint ranked fourth in Sophomore Men.

Karissa DeYoung of Jenison received honorable mention in the Junior Women category.

The Hope students' teachers are Linda Dykstra, Margaret Kennedy Dygas and Stuart Sharp.