HOLLAND -- All-conference honors have been presented to Hope College fall sports athletes.


The Flying Dutchmen, who tied for second place in the final conference standings, have three first team honorees and another five players on the second team.

Senior Phil Morse of Dearborn Heights was presented the league's Pete Schmidt Memorial Scholar-Athlete Award.

Senior defensive back Andy Snyder of Berrien Springs, Mich. (Berrien Springs HS) is a first-team honoree for the second consecutive year. He is joined on the first team by senior wide receiver Jack Schrock of Clarksville, Mich. (Clarksville HS) and senior defensive lineman Bryan Scheffers of Portage, Mich. (Kalamazoo Christian HS).

Second team honorees include junior offensive tackle Josh DeHaan of Fremont, Mich. (Fremont HS), senior linebacker Paul Hoeksema of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Creston HS), junior defensive back Joe Diekevers of Jenison, Mich. (Jenison HS), senior punter Seth Kovarik of Traverse City, Mich. (Traverse City Central HS), and junior placekicker Nate Barnett of Goodrich, Mich. (Goodrich HS).

Receiving coaches' honorable mention were freshman David Booko of Three Rivers, Mich. (Three Rivers HS), sophomore Zach Huizing of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Northview HS), senior Phil Morse of Dearborn Heights, Mich. (Divine Child HS), junior Joe Schwander of Rockford, Mich. (Rockford HS), senior Matt Thorne of Vermontville, Mich. (Maple Valley HS), senior Mike VerWys of Otsego, Mich. (Otsego HS), and senior Joe Verschueren of Muskegon, Mich. (Reeths Puffer HS).

The Flying Dutchmen posted a 6-4 overall record and were 5-2 against MIAA opponents.


Eight Hope players have been voted to the All-MIAA men's soccer teams. Juniors Devin McNeil of Lansing, Mich. (DeWitt HS) and Geoff Meyers of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS) were voted to the first team.

Six players achieved All-MIAA second team distinction -- junior Karter Klingenberg of Holland, Mich. (Holland Christian HS), senior Tyler Basler of Auburn, Mich. (Bay City Western HS), junior Bryan Johnson of Portage, Mich. (Portage Northern HS), freshman Dan Tresslar of Bloomington, Ind. (Bloomington South HS), senior Todd Chappa of Portage, Mich. (Portage Northern HS), and junior Kevin Butterfield of Zanesville, Ohio (Zanesville HS).

Receiving coaches' MIAA honorable mention were sophomore Patrick McMahon of Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS) and junior David Gonthier of Holland, Mich. (West Ottawa HS).

The Flying Dutchmen finished second in the MIAA race and posted a 15-5 overall record.


Senior Dawn Gillam of Portage, Mich. (Portage Northern HS)has been voted the MIAA's most valuable women's soccer player. A midfielder, Gillam played an instrumental role in leading the Dutch to a second consecutive conference championship, were 13-5-2 overall and earned a berth in the NCAA playoffs.

Gillam is joined on the All-MIAA first by sophomore teammates Rachael Sauerman of Naperville, Ill. (Naperville North HS) and Holly Nestle of Mason, Mich. (Mason HS). Gillam is a three-time first team honoree while Sauerman and Nestle are each being honored for a second time.

Hope players named to the All-MIAA second team include freshman Ellie Tresslar of Bloomington, Ill. (Bloomington HS) and senior Stephanie Bylsma of Hudsonville, Mich. (Hudsonville HS). Receiving coaches' honorable mention were junior Negeen Masghati of Naperville, Ill. (Naperville Central HS), freshman Kayla Fryczynski of Petoskey, Mich. (Petoskey HS), senior Cate Neidlinger of Marshall, Mich. (Marshall HS), and freshman Sarah Cochrane of Watertown, Wisc. (Watertown HS).


Junior Julie VanderSlice of New Era, Mich. (Shelby HS) was voted to the All-MIAA volleyball second team. An outside hitter, VanderSlice was among the league leaders in kills. Teammate Shawn Buche, a junior from Saranac (Lakewood HS), received coaches' honorable mention. The Flying Dutch finished fourth in the regular season standings and were 19-14 overall.


The Flying Dutch captured their first MIAA championship since 1989. Senior Tina Pike of Rochester, Minn. (Century HS) received the league's most valuable runner award finishing first at the conference meet.

Six runners achieved All-MIAA first team distinction led by Pike who was honored a third consecutive year. Other on the first team are sophomore Leslie Tableman of Lansing (Eastern HS), freshman Anne Hoekstra of Kalamazoo, Mich. (Loy Norrix HS), junior Heather Kamps of North Muskegon, Mich. (North Muskegon HS), freshman Charlotte Meeker of Traverse City, Mich. (Traverse City Christian HS), and sophomore Ashley Dean of Cadillac, Mich. (Cadillac HS). Senior Katrina Alvesteffer of Whitehall, Mich. (Whitehall HS) received All-MIAA second team honors.


The Flying Dutchmen finished third in the conference standings, Junior Tyson Warner of Portage, Mich. (Portage HS) achieved All-MIAA first team designation. Receiving All-MIAA second team honors were junior Matt Casillas of East Grand Rapids, Mich. (East Grand Rapids HS), sophomore Aaron Kenemer of Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland HS), senior Kyle Morrison of Niles, Mich. (Niles HS), sophomore Ryan TerLouw of Pella, Iowa (Pella HS), and junior Jeff Weber of Grandville, Mich. (Grandville HS).


The Flying Dutchmen won the MIAA championship for the fifth time in six years. Freshman Tommy Yamaoka of Zeeland, Mich. (Zeeland East HS) captured conference medalist and most valuable player honors marking the seventh straight year that a Hope golfer has led the league.

Yamaoka and freshman Matt Lapham of Brighton, Mich. (Brighton HS) received All-MIAA first team honors. Seniors Justin Spyker of Portage, Mich. (Portage Central HS) and Ryan Shedd of Coldwater, Mich. (Coldwater HS) achieved All-MIAA second team honors.


The Flying Dutch finished seventh in the MIAA standings. Sophomore Holly Sneller of Holland, Mich. (Hamilton HS) achieved All-MIAA second team honors for the second consecutive year.