Hope College athletes in several sports have been recognized on a national level for academic achievement during the 2005-06 school year.

The National Golf Coaches Association has named two players All-American Scholars -- Julie Hoogerhyde Grand Rapids (Forest Hills Northern HS) and Holly Sneller of Holland (Hamilton HS).  Both will be returning members to the 2006-07 team, Hoogerhyde a junior and Sneller a senior. Hoogerhyde is a pre-med student a major in Spanish and minor in business management.  Sneller is a education major pursuing a teaching career in special education.  The criteria for selection was a minimum cumulative 3.50 grade point average during the 2005-06 school year.

The women's swimming and diving team have received a national all-academic award from the Collegiate Swimming Coaches Association of America.  With a 3.54 cumulative grade point average, the Flying Dutch had the fourth best GPA among all NCAA Division III teams.

Seven Hope swimmers were named individual Academic All-Americans for earning a minimum 3.50 cumulative grade point average during the 2005-06 school year.  Jacob Holton of Chelsea (Chelsea HS) was part of an elite group of 12 swimmers from all NCAA Division III teams to maintain a perfect 4.0 GPA.  A co-captain of the 2005-06 team, Holton will be a senior next season.

Other Hope swimmers honored were Kurtis Blohm, a senior from Wilmington, Ohio (Wimington, Ohio); Jennifer Carr, a junior from Novi (Northville HS); Sarah Diekevers, a junior from Jenison (Jenison HS); Lisa Ekdom, a senior from Holland (Holland Christian HS); Brittaney Reest, a freshman from Holland (West Ottawa HS); and Lisa Smith, junior from Dearborn (Dearborn HS).  [Note: Class years were in 2005-06]

Six Hope track athletes have been honored by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.  To qualify for the association's national All-Academic team, athletes needed to have qualified for the NCAA Division III championships while maintaining a minimum cumulative 3.25 GPA during the 2005-06 school year.

Athletes honored were Laura Borovsky, a senior from Livonia (Churchill HS); Lindsay Lange, a sophomore from Manistee (Manistee HS); Ryan TerLouw, a junior from Pella, Iowa (Pella HS); Jennifer VanderMeer, a junior from Holland, Mich. (Holland HS); Maureen Warfield, a senior from Adrian (Adrian HS) and Jeff Weber, a senior from Grandville (Grandville HS). [Note: Class years were in 2005-06]

The Flying Dutchmen have received All-Academic team honors for the 10th time in the last 11 years from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).  The qualify for the award, the team needed to maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.20.  Coach Steve Gorno's team had a 3.41 GPA.

Six players received recognition as ITA Scholar Athletes for maintaining a minimum cumulative 3.5 GPA.  Robert Dody, a 2006 graduate from Whitehall (Whitehall HS).  Two other graduates, Nate Reed of Glen Arbor (Glen Lake HS) and Mark Johnson of Coopersville (Coopersville HS).  Also honored were first-year players Cameron DeHaan of Cadillac (Cadillac HS), John Schlotz of Kirkwood, Mo. (Kirkwood HS), and Zach Hoernschmeyer of Plymouth (Canton HS).