HOLLAND - Several Hope College athletes who played on fall sports teams have received all-conference honors from the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA).


Junior Matt Rugenstein of Grand Rapids (Grand Rapids Christian HS) was voted the league's most valuable defensive player.

Named to the offensive first team were junior tailback David Booko of Three Rivers (Three Rivers HS); junior tackle Jacob Droppers of Kalamazoo (Portage Northern HS); sophomore tackle Eric Ladomersky of Grandville (Grandville HS); and junior tight end Kevin VandenBosch of Grandville (Calvin Christian HS).

Defensive first team honorees include Rugenstein and senior Zach Huizing of Grand Rapids (Northview HS).  Both are being honored for a second consecutive year.

Junior Joey Goeb of Grand Rapids (East Grand Rapids HS) was named to the league's first team return specialist.

Named to the All-MIAA second team were senior center Joe Hensel of North Branch, (North Branch HS); junior wide receiver Doug VanEerden of Grand Rapids (Grand Rapids Christian HS); senior defensive nose guard Derek Cooper of Hudsonville (Zeeland HS); and senior defensive end Matt Erb of Middleville (Middleville HS).

Receiving coaches' honorable mention were senior Andy Serrano of Holland (Holland HS), junior Colin Balas of Kalamazoo (Portage Central HS), senior Kevin Roschek of Holland, (Holland HS), senior Josh Thorington of Traverse City (Traverse City Central HS), junior Troy Blasius of Gaylord (Saint Mary's Catholic HS), and junior Chris Bowen of Ithaca (Ithaca HS).


Junior midfielder Dan Tresslar of Bloomington, Ind. was voted the league's most valuable player. Tresslar is joined on the All-MIAA first team by sophomore forward Jack Abe of Naperville, Ill. (Naperville North HS), senior back Patrick McMahon of Grand Rapids (Forest Hills Central HS), senior Craig Root of Holland (Holland HS), and junior goalkeeper Mike Amerman of Indianapolis, Ind. (Brebeuf Prep).

Named to the All-MIAA second team were senior forward Joey Orr of Sterling Heights (Bethesda HS) and freshman Kevin Bartosek of Traverse City (Traverse City West HS).

Receiving coaches' honorable mention were sophomore Mitchell Currie of Fort Collins, Colo. (Fort Collins HS), sophomore Kevin McMahon of Grand Rapids (Forest Hills Central HS), senior Bain Rumohr of Mason (Mason HS), and sophomore Daniel Chesney of Clinton Township (DeLaSalle HS).


Named to the All-MIAA first team were sophomore midfielder Allison Van Beek of Libertyville, Ill. (Libertyville HS) and junior forward Sarah Cochrane of Watertown, Wisc. (Watertown HS).

Receiving second team All-MIAA recognition were senior goalkeeper Holly Nestle of Mason (Mason HS) and sophomore defenders Ellen Molenaar of Portage (Portage Central HS).

Receiving coaches' honorable mention were junior Ellie Tresslar of Bloomington, Ind. (Bloomington HS) and sophomore Sonya Masghati of Naperville, Ill. (Naperville Central HS).


Seniors Deena Van Assen and Amber Hoezee, each a graduate of Jenison High School, have received All-MIAA first team recognition while sophomore Nora Slenk of Holland (Holland Christian HS) is a second team honor.

Receiving coaches' honorable mention was senior Stephanie Poll of Hamilton (Hamilton HS).


Receiving All-MIAA first team honors were senior Ryan TerLouw of Pella, Iowa (Pella HS) and junior Seth Weener of Grandville (Grandville HS).

All-MIAA second team honors were earned by sophomore Rob Bailey of Portage, Ind. (Portage HS), sophomore Kate Freshour of Bloomington, Ill. (Olympia HS), senior Anne Hoekstra of Kalamazoo (Loy Norrix HS), senior Amanda Huck of Fowlerville (Fowlerville HS), senior Alison Mejeur of St. Joseph (St. Joseph HS), senior Aaron Kenemer of Zeeland (Zeeland HS), freshman Ben Miller of Beulah (Benzie Central HS), senior Katie Robinson of Shelby Township  (Lutheran North HS) and senior Leslie Tableman of Grand Rapids (Lansing HS).


Junior Matt Lapham of Brighton (Brighton HS) won league medalist honors and was joined on the All-MIAA first by senior Nate Golomb of Schoolcraft (Schoolcraft HS) and junior Tommy Yamaoka of Zeeland (Zeeland East HS).  Receiving All-MIAA second team honors were juniors Ryan Sheets of Saline (Saline HS) and Steve Martindale of Midland ( H.H. Dow HS).  In women's golf, Hope did not have a player received All-MIAA honors.