Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 8.

 Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college's annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 8.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college's second semester. Participating were James N. Boelkins, provost; Alfredo Gonzales, associate provost and dean for international and multicultural education; Moses Lee, dean for the natural sciences; Nancy S. Miller, dean for the social sciences; and William D. Reynolds, dean for the arts and humanities.

Honored for 40 years of service was David Myers (psychology). Recognized for 35 years of service were Jane Dickie (psychology), Stephen Hemenway (English) and Richard L. Smith (theatre).

Honored for 30 years of service were Thomas Ludwig (psychology) and Donald Luidens (sociology). Recognized for 25 years of service were Mary De Young (mathematics), Herbert Martin (economics, management and accounting), Richard Ray (kinesiology) and Boyd Wilson (religion). Honored for 20 years of service were Baars Bultman (education), Nancy Cook (education), Michael Jipping (computer science), Perry Landes (theatre), Patricia Roehling (psychology), John Stoughton (mathematics) and Karla Wolters (kinesiology).

Aaron Best (biology) was named a Towsley Research Scholar. Chris Barney (biology) and Jim Herrick (communication) received Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Awards. Ed Hansen (geology) and John Krupczak (engineering) received this year's Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Awards. The Provost's Awards for Service to the Academic Program were presented to Carol DeJong (registrar's office) and Carol Simon (philosophy and general education).

Faculty honored for serving on the college's Teaching Enhancement Workshop Committee were: James B. Heisler (economics, management and accounting), Donald L. Cronkite (biology), Barbara Mezeske (English) and Debra Swanson (sociology). Honored as workshop presenters were Barry Bandstra (religion), Richard Mezeske (education), Mike Silver (chemistry), Sonja Trent-Brown (psychology) and Kathy Winnett-Murray (biology).

Dianne Portfleet (English) was recognized for having received the 2006 Hope Outstanding Professor Educator (H.O.P.E.) Award.

Faculty acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Maria Claudia Andre (Spanish), Albert Bell (history), Jeanine Dell'Olio (education), Tony Donk (education), Rob Hodson (music), David James (English), Kristen Johnston (CrossRoads Project), Anne Larsen (French), Moses Lee (dean for the natural sciences), Thomas Ludwig (psychology), Donald Luidens (sociology), John Lunn (economics, management and accounting), David Myers (psychology), Roger Nemeth (sociology), Jack Ridl (English, emeritus), Heather Sellers (English), Mike Silver (chemistry) and Elliot Tanis (mathematics, emeritus).

Honored for accomplishment as performing artists were: Jean Bahle (theatre), Phil Blauw (communication), Michelle Bombe (theatre), Mihai Craioveanu (music), Linda Graham (dance), Steven Iannacone (dance), Andrew Le (music), Richard Piippo (music) and Steve Talaga (music). Members of the art faculty recognized for their work as artists were Steve Nelson and Katherine Sullivan. Members of the kinesiology faculty and staff honored for accomplishments as coaches were: Bob Ebels (men's golf), Stu Fritz (baseball), Dean Kreps (football), Brian Morehouse (women's basketball), Steve Smith (men's soccer) and Karla Wolters (softball).

Faculty honored for being named officers of professional associations were: Michelle Bombe (theatre), Kirk Brumels (kinesiology), Susan Cherup (education), Brian Coyle (music), Maxine DeBruyn (dance, emerita), Margaret Kennedy-Dygas (music), Mark Pearson (mathematics), Daina Robins (theatre) and Carol Simon (philosophy).

Faculty recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Janet Andersen (mathematics, posthumously), Jean Bahle (theatre), Susan Cherup (education), Donald Cronkite (biology), Matt DeJongh (computer science), Alfredo Gonzales (associate provost, and dean for international and multicultural education), Chuck Green (psychology, and Phelps Scholars Program, Gordon Gurley (biology), Joseph MacDoniels (communication, emeritus), Will Polik (chemistry), Rich Ray (kinesiology), Patricia Roehling (psychology), Ray Smith (kinesiology), Tom Smith (economics, management and accounting), Glenn Van Wieren (kinesiology) and Gordon Van Wylen (president, emeritus).

Several faculty and departments and programs were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships: Miguel Abrahantes (engineering), Jeff Brown (engineering), Tom Bultman (biology), Leah Chase (biology and chemistry), the Children's After School Achievement program (Fonda Green, executive director), Aaron Cinzori (mathematics), Victor Claar (economics, management and accounting), Andrew Dell'Olio (philosophy), Natalie Dykstra (English), Tim Evans (biology), Jason Gillmore (chemistry), Alfredo Gonzales (associate provost and dean for international and multicultural education), Tod Gugino (chemistry laboratories), Mike Jipping (computer science), John Krupczak (engineering), Moses Lee (dean for the natural sciences), Don Luidens (sociology), Ryan McFall (computer science), Roger Nemeth (sociology), Mark Northuis (kinesiology), Graham Peaslee (chemistry and geological sciences), Jeanne Petit (history), Mike Pikaart (chemistry), Will Polik (chemistry), Rich Ray (kinesiology), Mike Seymour (chemistry), Tom Smith (economics, management and accounting), Joanne Stewart (chemistry), Joel Toppen (political science), Upward Bound (Elizabeth Colburn, director), Steve VanderVeen (economics, management and accounting), Roger Veldman (engineering), Charlotte vanOyen Witvliet (psychology) and Karla Wolters (kinesiology).