Hope College students received a variety of special awards during the college's annual Honors Convocation held on Thursday, April 26.

Hope College students received a variety of special awards during the college's annual Honors Convocation held on Thursday, April 26.

Special prizes and awards presented are as follows:

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship -- junior Keith W. Mulder of Portage, with honorable mention going to juniors Marlie A. Johnson of Petoskey and Martha E. Precup of Boyne City.

Beckman Scholarships -- junior Jacquelyn D. Lewis of Rockford and sophomore Joseph L. Stodola of Jenison.

NSF (National Science Foundation) Graduate Fellowship (Honorable Mention) -- senior James P. Lajiness of Beech Grove, Ind.

Cancer Federation Award -- junior Jennifer C. Ruprich of Clarendon Hills, Ill.

Dean for the Arts and Humanities Awards -- senior Anna E. West of Birmingham.

Dean of Students Community Service Award -- senior Bethany A. Katerberg of Grand Rapids; Dean of Students Peter Bol Award -- senior Tally N. Reeverts of Colchester, Ill.

Dean of Students Greek Leadership Awards -- seniors Shannon L. Harburn of Okemos and Christian G. Piers of Holland; Dean of Students Multicultural Life Essay Contest Awards -- senior Steven M. Rodriguez of Macomb (first place), sophomore Allison L. Smith of Gary, Ind. (second place), and junior Thelton G. Parker of Holland and sophomore Erica E. Wilson of Auburn, Ind. (third place).

Jurries Family Vienna Summer School Awards -- sophomore Sara M. Aardema of Portage, junior Julie Marie Carrico of South Bend, Ind., and sophomore Brittney L. Jatzo of Iron River, Wis.

The Kent Medical Foundation Award -- senior Katie S. Mehari of Grand Rapids.

Laszlo Tokes Awards -- seniors Nicole E. Brace of Saline and William D. Nettleton of Battle Creek.

The Theune Family Award -- senior Matthew P. Dannenberg of Zeeland.

The Paul Norman Timmer Memorial Award -- junior Marina V. Kovalyuk of Moscow, Russia.

Exemplary Service Chapel Choir Awards -- seniors Jeffrey S. Brown of Colts Neck, N.J., Abby E. Kosta of Grandville, Chelsea E. Kramer of Traverse City, Jeannette M. Lockard of Clinton Township, Libby M. Skaff of Flint, Emily J. Sternisha of Fredonia, N.Y., Kristin E. Stoops of Walworth, N.Y., Peter C. Van Kempen of Holland, and Camaron M. Voyles of Fremont.

All-campus awards presented are as follows:

The Academy of American Poets Award -- senior Anna E. West of Brimingham, with honorable mention to senior Christian G. Piers of Holland.

The American Association of University Women Award -- senior Adriene L. Green of Holland.

The Southland Medal (Gerrit H. Albers Gold Medal) -- senior Molly Q. Lien of Midland.

John Schouten Awards -- seniors Lisa C. Smith of Dearborn and Jennifer A. VanderMeer of Holland.

Otto Vander Velde All-Campus Awards -- seniors Ryan P. Ter Louw of Pella, Iowa, and Michael J. VanderVelde of Grandville.

Special senior awards presented are as follows:

The Paul G. Fried Prize in International Education -- senior Shuchen (Debby) Lee of Singapore.

Technos International Prizes -- seniors Matt W. Boote of Deerfield, Ill., and Kirsten M. Winek of Peoria, Ill.