The Associated Collegiate Press honored two members of the staff of the weekly Hope College student newspaper "The Anchor" during the "Best of the Midwest College Newspaper Convention" held in Minneapolis, Minn., on Friday-Sunday, Feb. 15-17.

Ashley DeVecht, who is features editor and a junior from Byron Center, received seventh place in the Single Page Design category for her features spread "World Travelers," which she developed with "The Anchor's" production manager, senior Nicholas Engel of Grand Blanc. Senior Evelyn Daniel of Dearborn, who with senior Emily Papple of Holly serves as editor-in-chief, received 10th place in the Editorial/Commentary category for her column "Voice of Dissent."

"World Travelers" was the center-spread of the Wednesday, Feb. 7, issue of "The Anchor." Additional contributors to the spread included junior Amanda Anderson of Grandville (writer); sophomore Meghan Fore of St. Charles, Ill. (writer); freshman Gina Holder of Midland (graphics); and senior Dylana Pinter of Mundelein, Ill. (graphics). The spread examined off-campus study and featured question-and-answer interviews with four students: senior Theresa Fernandez of Grand Rapids, who had studied in Philadelphia, Pa.; junior Ryan Gary of Ada, who had studied in Wollongong, Australia; junior Erin Richards of Clarkston, who had studied in Salamanca, Spain; and junior Leah Wyatt of Colts Neck, N.J., who had studied in Queretaro, Mexico.

"Voice of Dissent" was published in "The Anchor" on Wednesday, Oct. 24. In the column, Daniel called for her readers to be open to hearing dissenting views and also to dare to voice them even when in the minority.

Founded in 1921, the Associated Collegiate Press is the largest and oldest national membership association for college student media in the United States, with more than 20,000 student journalists working on the staff of ACP-member publications. Nearly 300 delegates representing publications from colleges and universities from throughout the Midwest attended the Feb. 15-17 regional convention, which included not only the awards event but keynote addresses and workshops on topics related to college journalism.