HopeCollege students received a variety of special awards during the college's annual Honors Convocation held on Thursday, April 24.

HopeCollege students received a variety of special awards during the college's annual Honors Convocation held on Thursday, April 24.

Special prizes and awards presented are as follows:

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships - juniors Kristin E. Dittenhafer of Midland; Jonathan P. Moerdyk of Paris; and Amy L. Speelman of Darien, Ill.

Cancer Federation Award and Beckman Scholarship - sophomore Shirley E. Bradley of Pierson.

Dean for the Arts and Humanities Award - senior Julie C. Robinson of Warsaw, Ind.

Dean of Students Community Service Award - junior Jonathan D. Van Wyngarden of Holland.

Dean of Students Peter Bol Award - senior Hilary C. Cason of Detroit.

Dean of Students Greek Leadership Awards - seniors Paul M. Carollo of Rochester and Meghan N. Estochen of Marion, N.Y.

Earhart Emerging Scholars - seniors Cameron A. Calka of Livonia and George W. Klupchak of Naperville, Ill.

Fulbright Fellowships - seniors Alexander M. Behm of Ann Arbor and Karen E. Russell of Berkeley, Ill.

Jurries Family Vienna Summer School Awards - sophomore Garrison T. Benson of Royal Oak and senior Chad W. Coots of Kenya.

Kent Medical Foundation Award - senior Alan M. Sielaff of Grand Rapids.

Laszlo Tokes Award - seniors Samantha L. Miller of Gaylord, David A. Nyitray of Holland and Matthew C. Wixson of Albion.

Office of Multicultural Education and The CrossRoads Project Multicultural Essay Contest Awards -- junior Allison L. Smith (first place) of Gary, Ind., senior Quinette A. Yarbrough (second place) of Holland and junior Leticia A. Parker (third place) of Holland.

Theune Family Award - senior Robert F. Kenagy of Stevensville.

Paul Norman Timmer Memorial Award - sophomores Natalie R. DeGeorge of St. Clair Shores and Marni L. Nixon of Mount Prospect, Ill.

Chapel Choir Exemplary Service Awards - seniors Hillary C. Byker of Hudsonville, Isaac D. Droscha of Mason, Margaret A. Hellner of Stevensville, Lisa J. Peterson of Columbus, Ohio, Tyler M. Racey of Ludington, Erin N. Taylor of Freeport, Ill., Christopher M. Turbessi of Nunica and Emily G. VanOosterhout of Stevensville.

All-campus awards presented are as follows:

Academy of American Poets Award - senior Joan A. Colner of Columbus, Ohio.

M. Harold Mikle Prize for Communication - senior Evelyn C. Daniel of Dearborn.

Southland Medal (Gerrit H. Albers Gold Medal) - senior Emilie J. Dykstra of Zeeland.

John Schouten Award - senior Lindsay M. Lange of Manistee.

Otto Vander Velde All-Campus Award - senior Thomas A. Yamaoka of Zeeland.

Special senior awards presented are as follows:

AATF Outstanding Senior in French Award - senior Jennifer C. Birkenholz of Des Moines, Iowa.

Paul G. Fried Prize in International Education - senior Beula R. Pandian of Kuwait.

Music Teachers National Association Student Achievement Recognition - senior Christopher M. Turbessi of Nunica.

Technos International Prize - seniors Lauren N. Eriks of Grand Rapids and Kevin J. Steinbach of Downers Grove, Ill.