The Associated Collegiate Press honored four members of the staff of the weekly Hope College student newspaper "The Anchor" during the "Best of the Midwest College Newspaper Convention" held in Minneapolis, Minn., on Friday-Sunday, Feb. 20-22.

° Senior Karie Luidens of Altamont, N.Y., who is a senior staff writer and assistant graphics editor, received fifth place in the News Story category for her story "Hope swaps shuttle vans for bus," which was published on Wednesday, Sept. 3.

° Sophomore Karen Patterson of Rockford, Ill., who is co-sports editor, and freshman Chris O'Brien of Midland, a guest writer, received fourth place in the Sports Story category for an article they co-authored concerning Title IX, which was published on Wednesday, Feb. 4.

° Sophomore Kevin Soubly of Plymouth, who is photo editor as well as the paper's Web master, received fifth place in the News Photo category for "No Zebras, No Excuses," which was published on Wednesday, Feb. 18, with a story about a visiting group's presentation on sexual assault.

Founded in 1921, the Associated Collegiate Press is the largest and oldest national membership association for college student media in the United States, with more than 20,000 student journalists working on the staff of ACP-member publications.  Delegates representing publications from colleges and universities from throughout the Midwest attended the Feb. 20-22 regional convention, which included not only the awards event but keynote addresses and workshops on topics related to college journalism.