Both Hope College swiming/diving teams have been presented the 2008-09 Academic All-American Team Award for 2008-09 from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America.

To be eligible, a team must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a four-point scale.  The women's team compiled a 3.29 cumulative GPA while the men's team had a 3.10 cumulative GPA.

In addition, eight swimmers were named Scholar All-Americans for finishing with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher.  A swimmer also needed to have qualified for the 2009 NCAA Division III championships.

Swimmers honored included Laura Ansilio of Western Springs, Ill. (Lyons Township HS), Brittaney Reest Delo of Holland (West Ottawa HS), Matthew Gregory of St. Joseph (St. Joseph HS), Phil Heyboer of Zeeland (Holland Christian HS), Ryan Nelis of Holland (West Ottawa HS), Matthew Rose of Grandville (Grandville HS), Jeffrey Shade of Davison (Davison HS), and Sarah Sohn of Arlington Heights, Ill. (Prospect HS).

Ansilio and Reest Delo are 2009 graduates. Heyboer, Nelis and Rose will be seniors in 2009-10 while Gregory, Shade and Sohn will be sophomores.

The Hope swimming/diving teams are coach by John Patnott.