The 2010 Flying Dutch feature a squad that has a blend of veterans and
collegiate newcomers.

The Flying Dutch return 24 letterwinners from a team that finished
second in the 2009 Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
(MIAA) standings and 13th place finish at the NCAA Division III

Coach Kevin Cole begins his fifth season with a squad that includes 12
freshmen, 25 sophomores, 14 juniors and four seniors.

In 2009 the Flying Dutch scored a school-record 18 points at the
national championships. Gone from that team is Nora Kuiper, Hope's
first female national track and field champion who won the gold medal
in the 100-meter dash. Returning is junior Kara VandeGuchte of
Hamilton (Hamilton HS) who placed 20th at nationals in the heptathlon.
 VandeGuchte is an All-MIAA athlete in both volleyball and track &

Sophomore Kate Nelson of Williamston (Williamston HS) is also a
returning All-MIAA trackster and has received all-conference honors in
cross country (2008). Four Flying Dutch received All-MIAA honors in
cross country this past fall -- junior Emily Fischer of Naperville,
Ill. (Naperville Central HS), freshman Taylor Mattarella of Traverse
City (Traverse City Central HS), Kelly Lufkin of Houghton (Houghton
HS), and jnior Susan Savasky of Berkley (Marian HS).

Co-captains of the team are Emily Fischer, senior Haleigh Gokey of
Mattawan (Paw Paw HS) and Kara VandeGuchte.

The Flying Dutch are defending MIAA champions in the 4x100 meter
relay. Returning from that relay are VandeGuchte, junior Emily
Kreichelt of Northville (Northville HS), and sophomore Rachel Walton
of Columbus, Ohio (Worthington Christian HS).

Other returning letterwinners include sophomore Alyssa Ambrose of
Okemos (Okemos HS), junior Claire Bird of New Paltz, N.Y. (New Paltz),
junior Katelyn Brundige of Vicksburg (Vicksburg HS), sophomore Tracy
Dekoekkoek of Martin (Kalamazoo Christian HS), sophomore Salome
Emmanuel of Wheaton, Ill. (Wheaton Northern HS), sophomore Katrina
Gobrogge of Napoleon, Ohio (Archbold HS), junior Heidi Grooters of
Jenison (Jenison HS), sophomore Jacqueline Kirsch of Harbor Beach
(Harbor Beach HS), junior Rachael Kutney of St. Claire Shores
(Lakeshore HS), senior Emma Lucas of Boon (Cadillac HS), junior Andrea
Miller of Algonquin, Ill. (Dundee Crown HS), sophomore Kristen Reschke
of Naperville, Ill. (Naperville Central HS), sophomore Emily Streelman
of Jenison (Unity Christian HS), sophomore Ashley Tufnell of East
Lansing (Okemos HS), junior Sarah VanderMeer of Holland (Holland HS),
and sophomore Kristen Warriner 0f Eaton Rapids (Eaton Rapids HS).