Pictured from left to right: Andrea Eddy, 2009-10 Hope Mortar Board Webmaster; Dan Turner, National Mortar Board President; Hope advisor Dianne Portfleet; Kelsey Bos, 2010-11 Hope Mortar Board president; and Phoebe Burtless-Creps, 2010-11 Hope Mortar Board treasurer.

The Hope College Alcor Chapter of Mortar Board has been named the nation's top chapter. The award was presented at the organization's national conference in Chicago.

Hope was selected from six finalists to receive the Ruth Weimer Mount Chapter Excellence Award. Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for superior achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Membership is synonymous with dedication and success. Only a select few students on each campus are invited to join this esteemed society – an honor naming them among the most amazing college scholar-leaders in the U.S.

The Alcor chapter has existed at Hope since the 1936-37 academic year. It became part of the national Mortar Board organization in 1961.