The jazz program at Hope College has released a compact disc featuring performances by two of the college's ensembles.

The jazz program at Hope College has released a compact disc featuring performances by two of the college's ensembles.

"Suspending Judgement" includes a total of nine tracks recorded by the Jazz Arts Collective and the Jazz Chamber Ensemble I during 2008 and 2009.  Several of the pieces were written by members of the Hope community, including faculty members Dr. Brian Coyle, Dr. Robert Hodson and Steve Talaga, and 2009 graduate Michael Hobson.

Copies are available for $10 at the Hope-Geneva Bookstore.

There will be a launch party, featuring entertainment by HopeCollege jazz ensembles, on Monday, Nov. 15, at 7 p.m. at Butch's, located in downtown Holland at 44 E. Eighth St.  The public is invited and admission is free to the event, which is being hosted by the Hope College Patrons for the Arts.

The Jazz Arts Collective is featured performing "Dunes at Dawn, Dromadaire Extraordinaire," by Chris Brubeck, and the title track, "Suspending Judgement," by Coyle.

The Jazz Chamber Ensemble I is featured performing "Harvesting Dance," by Aaron Parks; "Smile," by Charlie Chaplin; "Piece of Cake," by Michel Camilo; "See Ya," by Talaga; "Leaving Late," by Hobson; "Pablo," by Talaga; and "High Rise," by Hodson.

The Jazz Arts Collective is the premier large jazz ensemble at Hope College.  Directed by Coyle, the collective places a creative focus on ensemble communication and improvisation. Comprised of a rhythm section and flexible wind instrumentation, the select group performs compositions and arrangements from across the full spectrum of music.  The collective is directed by Coyle.

The Jazz Chamber Ensemble I, which is the college's top jazz combo, has toured internationally, including to England in 2008 and Japan in 2010.  The ensemble is directed by Hodson.  The musicians featured on the ensemble's tracks are senior Larry Figueroa of Holland, piano; 2009 graduate Jeff Hatcher of West Dundee Ill., bass; 2009 graduate Michael Hobson of Tampa, Fla., guitar; 2010 graduate Stephen Hobson of Flushing, drums; 2009 graduate Ben Oegema of Lawton, drums; and junior Zach Pedigo of Chippewa Falls, Wis., bass.

The tracks were recorded in Snow Auditorium of Nykerk Hall of Music.  The CD was produced by Coyle, John K. Erskine and Glenn Brown of GBP Studios.  Erskine was principal recording engineer, Ryan Wert was associate recording engineer and Brown was mastering engineer.

The CD's cover art, a photograph titled "Black Anemones," is by Dr. Andrew Le of the Hope music faculty.  The booklet design was by Mark Cook, director of the Hope-Geneva Bookstore.

The Hope-Geneva Bookstore is located on the ground level of the DeWitt Center, on Columbia Avenue at 12th Street.  The bookstore is open Mondays from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Tuesdays from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Wednesdays-Fridays from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.; and Saturdays from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.  The bookstore is closed on Sundays.  The bookstore can also be visited online at or called at (616) 395-7833 or 1-800-946-4673.