Multiple Hope College jazz chamber ensembles will perform on Monday, Nov. 28, at 7:30 p.m. in Wichers Auditorium of Nykerk Hall of Music.

The public is invited. Admission is free.

The concert will feature the Prestige Ensemble, the Vanguard Ensemble, the Verve Ensemble and the Blue Note Ensemble.

* The Prestige Ensemble will begin the concert by performing "Route 66," by Bobby Troupe; "There Will Never be Another You," by Harry Warren; "A Child is Born," by Thad Jones; and "Little Sunflower," by Freddie Hubbard. The Prestige Ensemble is coached by seniors Caleb Murray of Half Moon Bay, Calif., and Zach Pedigo of Chippewa Falls, Wis. The Ensemble includes freshman Lisa McLellan of Fort Wayne, Ind., alto saxophone; freshman Ashley Ritsema of Grand Rapids, alto saxophone; freshman Zach Zandbergen of Grandville, piano; Zach Pedigo, bass; and freshman Jarred Mackey of Jackson, drums.

* The Vanguard Ensemble will next perform "Road Song," by Wes Montgomery; "Song for Bilboa," by Pat Metheny; and "One by One," by Wayne Shorter. The Vanguard Ensemble is coached by Mike VanLente, instructor of jazz percussion. The Vanguard Ensemble includes junior Kin Fong of Northbrook, Ill., alto saxophone/piano; sophomore Christopher Rodriguez of Kalamazoo, guitar; sophomore Christian Nikkel of Holland, guitar; sophomore Forrest Dodson of Kalamazoo, bass; and sophomore Joshua Holicki of Coldwater, drums.

* The Verve Ensemble will then perform "Maiden Voyage," by Herbie Hancock; "Freddie Freeloader," by Miles Davis; "Have You Met Miss Jones," by Rodgers/Hart; and "Take the A Train," by Duke Ellington. The Verve Ensemble is coached by Tom Lockwood, instructor of saxophone. The Verve Ensemble includes sophomore Nathan Axdorff of Grand Rapids, alto saxophone; sophomore Guillermo Flores of Holland, alto saxophone; sophomore Christian Nikkel of Holland, piano; freshman Nicholas Tuitel of Grand Rapids, bass; and senior Jonathan Gabhart of Spencer, Iowa, drums.

* The Blue Note Ensemble will close the concert with "Sack O' Woe," by Cannonball Adderley; "Come Condela," by Mongo Santamaria; "The Nearness of You," by Washington/Carmichael; and "Sweet Georgia Brown," by Bernie/Pinkard/Casey. The Blue Note Ensemble is coached by Steve Talaga, instructor of music, jazz piano and composition. The Blue Note Ensemble includes freshman Matthew Milliken of Fenton, alto saxophone; freshman Andrew Valesano of Sherwood, Ore., piano; sophomore Matt Costello of Holland, bass; and junior Wesley Rieth of Three Oaks, drums.

The college's jazz chamber ensembles afford students the opportunity to perform in the classic small-group combo setting, and are open to anyone, regardless of experience with jazz. The ensembles vary in size and instrumentation, and place a creative focus on improvisation and group communication. All of the ensembles perform works from the classic jazz repertoire. The more advanced jazz chamber ensembles also perform repertoire from the contemporary jazz world and emphasize original student and faculty compositions.

Nykerk Hall of Music is located in the central Hope campus at the former 127 E. 12th Street between College and Columbia avenues.