Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college’s annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 7.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college’s second semester. Participating were James Bultman, president; Richard Ray, provost, and professor of kinesiology; Moses Lee, dean for the natural and applied sciences, and professor of chemistry; William Reynolds, dean for the arts and humanities, and professor of English; and Carol Simon, associate dean for teaching and learning, and professor of philosophy.

Honored for 45 years of service was John Tammi (theatre).  Recognized for 35 years of service were Al Bell (history), Billy Mayer (art), John Patnott (kinesiology), Mike Seymour (chemistry) and Kathleen Verduin (English).  Honored for 30 years of service were Marc Baer (history), Barry Bandstra (religion), Peter Gonthier (physics), Linda Graham (dance), Chuck Green (psychology/Phelps Scholars Program), Bill Moreau (English) and Roger Nemeth (sociology).  Recognized for 25 years of service were Dawn DeWitt-Brinks (communication), Kelly Jacobsma (Van Wylen Library), Mark Northuis (kinesiology), Will Polik (chemistry), Dianne Portfleet (English), Carol Simon (philosophy, and associate dean for teaching and learning), Gloria Slaughter (Van Wylen Library), Todd Steen (economics), Joanne Stewart (chemistry), Linda Strouf (music) and Deborah Sturtevant (sociology and social work).  Honored for 20 years of service were Brian Coyle (music), Andrew Dell’Olio (philosophy), Stu Fritz (kinesiology), Lorna Hernandez Jarvis (psychology), Cathy Mader (physics), Phil Munoa (religion) and Tom Smith (economics, management and accounting).  Recognized for 20 years of service as adjunct or part-time faculty members were Steve Gorno (kinesiology) and Pam Maat (education).  In addition, the college made special presentation to President James Bultman, who will be retiring at the end of the school year after 14 years as president and a total of 31 years at Hope between 1968 and 2013.

Named a “Towsley Research Scholar” was Beth Anderson (chemistry).  The “Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Award” was presented to Mike Seymour (chemistry).  The “Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Awards” were presented to Susan Dunn (nursing) and Fred Johnson (history).  The “Academic Computing Advisory Team (ACAT) Innovation Award” was presented to Will Polik (chemistry).  The “Provost’s Awards for Service to the Academic Program” was presented to Peter Schakel (English).  The “Motoichiro Oghimi Global Courage Awards” were presented to Alfredo Gonzales (associate provost and dean for international and multicultural education) and Chuck Green (psychology and director of the Phelps Scholars Program).

Acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Claudine André (Spanish), Marc Baer (history), Wayne Brouwer (religion), Rhoda Janzen Burton (English), Natalie Dykstra (English), Renata Fernandez (Spanish), Lee Forester (German), Jim Herrick (communication), David Myers (psychology), Laura Pardo (education), Jack Ridl (English, emeritus), Peter Schakel (English), Heather Sellers (English), Carol Simon (philosophy, and associate dean for teaching and learning), Steve Taylor (chemistry, emeritus), Kent VanTil (religion) and Daniel Woolsey (Spanish).

Honored for accomplishment as performing artists were: Adam Clark (music), Mihai Craioveanu (music), Steven Iannacone and dANCEpROjECt (dance), Huw Lewis (music), Daina Robins (theatre) and Steve Talaga (music).  Recognized for her work as an artist was Katherine Sullivan (art).  Members of the kinesiology faculty and staff honored for accomplishments as coaches were: Kevin Cole (men’s and women’s track and field), Brian Morehouse (women’s basketball), Matt Neil (men’s basketball), Mark Northuis (women’s cross country) and Nate Price (women’s tennis).

Faculty honored for being named officers of professional associations were:  Michelle Bombe (theatre), David Cunningham (CrossRoads Project, and Center for Writing and Research), Lee Forester (German), Christina Hornbach (music) and Julie Sooy (music).

Faculty and other members of the campus community recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Elisabeth Bauman (English), Virginia Beard (political science), Aaron Best (biology), Kristin Brace (English), Carrie Bredow (psychology), James Bultman (president), Susanna Childress (English), Ernest Cole (English), Paul DeYoung (physics), Robert Fortner (communication), Donna Garrett (nursing), Choonghee Han (communication), Teresa Housel (communication), Stacey Johnson (Spanish), Corissa Lamphear (chemistry), Tom Ludwig (psychology), David Myers (psychology), Jared Ortiz (religion), Bill Pannapacker (English), David Phillips (economics, management and accounting), Jack Ridl (English, emeritus), Carol Simon (philosophy, and associate dean for teaching and learning), Scott VanderStoep (psychology, and dean for the social sciences), Steve VanderVeen (management, and Center for Faithful Leadership), Courtney Werner (English) and Angie Yetzke (dance).  In addition, the department of education was honored for earning a 70, the highest possible score, on the Michigan Department of Education Teacher Preparation Institution Performance Scores Report, and the department of nursing was recognized for receiving a “Building Michigan’s Health Care Workforce Award” from the Michigan Health Council.

Several faculty and staff were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships:  Claudine André (Spanish), Airat Bekmetjev (mathematics), Aaron Best (biology), Brian Bodenbender (geological and environmental sciences), Anna Bonnema (FACES program), Ken Brown (chemistry), Tom Bultman (biology), Liz Colburn (Upward Bound), Matt DeJongh (computer science), Herb Dershem (computer science, and institutional research), Carrie Dummer (education), Sue Dunn (nursing), Natalie Dykstra (English), Stephanie Edwards (mathematics), Janis Gibbs (history), Peter Gonthier (physics), Virgil Gulker (Center for Faithful Leadership), Jonathan Hagood (history), Maria Hledin (biology and chemistry), Lynn Japinga (religion), Mike Jipping (computer science), Jeff Johnson (chemistry), Julie Kipp (English), Jacquelin Koch (geological and environmental sciences, and chemistry), Brent Krueger (chemistry), Jianhua Li (biology), Cathy Mader (physics), Tracy McMichael (Center for Faithful Leadership), Greg Murray (biology), Karen Nordell Pearson (chemistry, and associate dean for research and scholarship), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Jeanne Petit (history), Julia Randel (music), Steve Remillard (physics), Daina Robins (theatre), Heather Sellers (English), Christian Spielvogel (communication), Joanne Stewart (chemistry), Deb Sturtevant (sociology and social work), Katherine Sullivan (art), Todd Swanson (mathematics), Sonja Trent-Brown (psychology), Jill VanderStoep (mathematics), Roger Veldman (engineering) and Brian Yurk (mathematics).