The beginning of the inaugural ceremony for Hope College President John C. Knapp at Dimnent Memorial Chapel on Friday, Oct. 4, will be marked by a colorful procession of visiting celebrants from other colleges and universities, along with Hope College faculty members and representatives of learned organizations.

The order of appearance in the procession is determined by the institution's date of founding, oldest first. Harvard University, founded in 1636, will lead the procession. There will be 53 institutions represented, including representatives from universities in India, Japan, Mexico and the United Kingdom.

Approximately 150 members of the Hope College faculty will participate.

The inauguration will be held in Dimnent Memorial Chapel beginning at 2 p.m. Admission will be by ticket. The ceremony will be streamed live on the college's website.

Institutions to be represented

Harvard University, 1636
Yale University, 1701
Allegheny College, 1815
University of Michigan, 1817
Kenyon College, 1824
Hanover College, 1827
Kalamazoo College, 1833
Oberlin College, 1833
Albion College, 1835
DePauw University, 1837
Knox College, 1837
Samford University, 1841
Ohio Wesleyan University, 1842
Liverpool Hope University, 1844
Olivet College, 1844
Baylor University, 1845
Wittenberg University, 1845
Eastern Michigan Unversity, 1849
Coe College, 1851
Central College, 1853
Michigan State University, 1855
Adrian College, 1859
Wheaton College, 1860
Meiji Gakuin University, 1863
College of Wooster, 1866
Western Theological Seminary, 1866
Howard University, 1867
Ferris University, 1870
Spring Arbor University, 1873
Andrews University, 1874
St. Olaf College, 1874
Calvin College, 1876
Calvin Theological Seminary, 1876
Northwestern College, 1882
Waseda University, 1882
Ferris State University, 1884
Trine University, 1884
Alma College, 1886
Aquinas College, 1886
Whitworth University, 1890
Marygrove College, 1905
Georgia State University, 1913
Union Christian College, Aluva, 1921
Kendall College of Art and Design, 1928
Kuyper College, 1939
Cornerstone University, 1941
Grace Bible College, 1945
Universidad Autónoma de Querétaro, 1951
Dordt College, 1955
Northwood University, 1959
Trinity Christian College, 1959
Grand Valley State University, 1960
Saginaw Valley State University, 1963

Representatives of Professional and Learned Societies

Michigan Colleges Foundation, 1949
Great Lakes Colleges Association, 1961
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Michigan, 1967
Consortium for Global Education, 1987