Ben Zank

Senior Ben Zank of Midland, Michigan (Midland HS), headlines the recipients of the Hope College men’s cross country team’s awards for the 2014 season. 

Zank has been selected the Flying Dutchmen’s Most Valuable Runner and given the Dr. Vandervelde Award.

The Vandervelde Award is named in honor of Dr. (Coach) Richard Vandervelde, a former professor of mathematics and assistant cross country coach at Hope College. It is awarded to student-athletes who most closely exhibit the servant characteristics that Vandervelde lived out: a positive and enthusiastic attitude, being a servant to others, and motivating others toward excellence. 

Zank was a NCAA Division III Championships qualifier this season and finished 120th in the nation. He also claimed All-Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association First-Team honors.

Junior Matt Rolain of Rochester, Michigan (Stoney Creek HS), was chosen Hope’s Most Improved Runner.

Freshman Ben Pederson of Mount Prospect, Illinois (Prospect HS), was selected the Flying Dutchmen’s Best Newcomer.