Pictured from left to right are some of those who received special awards: Amy Otis-DeGrau (international education, “Motoichiro Oghimi Global Courage Award”); Jared Ortiz (religion, “Towsley Research Scholar”); Daryl Van Tongeren (psychology, “Towsley Research Scholar); Mark Husbands (religion, “Academic Computing Innovation Award”); and Jason Gillmore (chemistry, “Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Award.”

Hope College honored faculty members for service, academic achievement and professional involvement during the college’s annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 5.

The luncheon traditionally marks the beginning of the college’s second semester. Participating were Richard Ray, provost and professor of kinesiology; Scott Vander Stoep, dean for social sciences and professor of psychology; Karen Nordell Pearson, associate dean for research and scholarship, and associate professor of chemistry; Kelly Jacobsma, the Genevra Thome Begg Director of Libraries with rank of associate professor; Alfredo Gonzales, associate provost, dean for international and multicultural education, and adjunct associate professor of social work; and Barb De Pree, a member of the college’s Board of Trustees.

Honored for 40 years of service were Jim Piers (sociology and social work) and John Shaughnessy (psychology).  Recognized for 35 years of service were Christopher Barney (biology) and Anthony Perovich (philosophy).  Honored for 30 years of service were Paul DeYoung (physics) and Janet Everts (religion).  Honored for 25 years of service were Steven Iannacone (dance), Sylvia Kallemeyn (Spanish), Huw Lewis (music), Steve Smith (kinesiology) and Yolanda Vega (Phelps Scholars Program).  Recognized for 20 years of service were Virginia McDonough (biology) and Jeff Tyler (religion).

Named “Towsley Research Scholars” were Jared Ortiz (religion) and Daryl Van Tongeren (psychology).  The “Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Award” was presented to Jason Gillmore (chemistry).  The “Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award” was presented to John Cox (English).  The “Academic Computing Innovation Award” was presented to Mark Husbands (religion).  The “Provost’s Awards for Service to the Academic Program” were presented to Janis Gibbs (Vienna Summer School, and history) and Stephen Hemenway (Vienna Summer school, and English).  The “Motoichiro Oghimi Global Courage Award” was presented to Amy Otis-DeGrau (international education).

Acknowledged as authors and editors during the past year were: Maria Claudia André (Spanish), Albert Bell (history), Ernest Cole (English), John Cox (English), Ed Hansen (geological and environmental sciences), Stephen Hemenway (English), David James (English, and Academic Success Center), Nella Kennedy (Van Raalte Institute), David Myers (psychology), Jacob E. Nyenhuis (Van Raalte Institute), Kathryn Schoon-Tanis (English) and Robert P. Swierenga (Van Raalte Institute).

Honored for accomplishment as performing artists were: Adam Briggs (music), Mihai Craioveanu (music), Matt Farmer (dance), Charlie Hoats (music), Rob Kenagy (English), Andrew Le (music), Nate Roberts (music), Diana Robins (theatre), Sarah Southard (music) and Angie Yetzke (dance).  Recognized for their work as artists were Steve Nelson (art) and Katherine Sullivan (art).

Recognized for achievements as coaches were Bob Ebels (men’s golf), Brian Morehouse (women’s basketball), Becky Schmidt (volleyball), Leigh Sears (women’s soccer) and Greg Stafford (women’s golf).

Faculty honored for being named officers of professional associations were: Michelle Bombe (theatre), Ernest Cole (English), Suzanne DeVries-Zimmerman (geological and environmental sciences), Stephanie Edwards (mathematics), Janet Everts (religion), Nicki Flinn (dance), Stu Fritz (kinesiology), Jonathan Hagood (history), William Pannapacker (English), Kendra Parker (English) and Katherine Sullivan (art).

Faculty and other members of the campus community recognized for receiving honors and awards were: Adam Briggs (music), Maria Burnatowska-Hledin (biology and chemistry), Llena Chavis (sociology and social work), Marissa Doshi (communication), Emily Dykstra Goris (nursing), Aaron Franzen (sociology and social work), Linda Graham (dance), Laura Pardo (education), Kendra Parker (English), Courtney Peckens (engineering), Geoffrey Reynolds (Joint Archives of Holland), Jack Ridl (English, emeritus), Stephen Scogin (biology), Benjamin Shank (physics), Katherine Sullivan (art) and Kathleen Verduin (English).

Several faculty and staff were recognized as recipients of grants and fellowships: Miguel Abrahantes (engineering), Maria Claudia André (Spanish), Barry Bandstra (religion, and academic computing), Andrew Best (biology), Brian Bodenbender (geological and environmental sciences), Susan Ipri Brown (engineering), David Cunningham (Klooster Writing Center, and religion), Tony Donk (education), Sarah Estelle (economics), Jason Gillmore (chemistry), Rob Hodson (music), Deirdre Johnston (communication), Catherine Mader (physics), Eric Mann (mathematics), Steve Nelson (art), Graham Peaslee (chemistry, and geological and environmental sciences), Jeanne Petit (history), David Phillips (economics), Julia Randel (music), Matt Smith (engineering), Todd Swanson (mathematics), Jill VanderStoep (mathematics), Deborah Van Duinen (education) and Scott Vander Stoep (dean for the social sciences, and psychology).