A total of 10 Hope students will be honored by the Michigan Campus Compact (MiCC) during the 19th Outstanding Student Service Awards Celebration on Saturday, April 18, in East Lansing for their dedication and commitment to community service.

Each year, MiCC awards students from member colleges and universities across the state for their outstanding commitment to service-learning and civic engagement. Three types of awards are given: the Outstanding Community Impact Award, the Commitment to Service Award, and the Heart and Soul Award. This year, more than 240 students from 30 member campuses will receive awards.

The Hope students will each receive the Heart and Soul Award, given to students to recognize their time, effort and personal commitment to their communities through service.  The students being honored are:  senior Jenae Arvidson of Wheeling, Illinois; senior Connor Brady of Walker; junior Lauren Burford of Livonia; junior Hannah Cutshall of Stuart, Florida; senior Marie Dollar of Lowell; junior Andrew Harrison of Wayzata, Minnesota; senior Andrea Matthew of Grosse Pointe; junior Amie Napier of Canton; senior Julie Sobieski of Saint Charles, Illinois; and senior Sarah Steed of Birmingham.

MiCC will honor all award recipients at an awards brunch on Saturday, April 18, at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Michigan Campus Compact is a coalition of college and university presidents who are committed to fulfilling the public purpose of higher education. MiCC promotes the education and commitment of Michigan college students to be civically engaged citizens, through creating and expanding academic, co-curricular and campus-wide opportunities for community service, service-learning and civic engagement. More information is available at micampuscompact.org.