The Hope College Orchestra and Hope College Wind Symphony will combine to present their final concert of the year on Wednesday, April 19, at 8 p.m. in Dimnent Memorial Chapel.

          The public is invited.  Admission is free.
          The Orchestra will feature work by three American
  composers:  Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland and George
          The first piece of the evening, composed by
  Bernstein, is titled "SLAVA!," and is a political overture
  written for the great Russian cellist Mstislav Rostropovich
  ("Slava" to his friends) to help launch his inaugural
  concerts as music director of the National Symphony
          Next are "Saturday Night Waltz" and "Hoe-Down"
  from the ballet suite "Rodeo" by Copland.  The idea of the
  ballet was devised by choreographer Agnes de Mille.
          Third will be "Quiet City," a work for strings,
  trumpet and English horn, also composed by Copland.  The
  piece was written in 1939 as a fantasia:  a freely moving
  work in which one is only vaguely aware of the solo
  instruments and hears an interplay of voices.  The work will
  feature two student performance majors:  sophomore Sarah
  Herman of Sylvania, Ohio, English horn, and senior Josh
  Rasdall of Hutchinson, Kan., trumpet.
          The final piece is the "Rhapsody in Blue" by
  Gershwin, featuring as guest artist Charles Aschbrenner of
  the Hope College piano faculty.
          The Wind Symphony will also perform works by
  American composers.
          The first, "On the Delta," is composed by William
  Grant Still, the "Dean" of African-American composers.
          The second, "American Guernica," is a stark and
  moving piece by Adolphus Hailstork, another African-American
  composer.  It is a musical "response" to the bombing of the
  Sixteenth Street Baptist Church in Birmingham, Ala., in the
  1960s in which four girls were killed.  Introducing the
  piece is Dr. Kimberly Moffit, a visiting member of the
  communication faculty from Howard University, who will read
  an original piece by Dr. Susan Atefat Peckham, assistant
  professor of English at Hope.
          The next piece, a new work that has received much
  acclaim in the past two years, is "Southern Harmony" by
  Donald Grantham, a composer at the University of Texas.  It
  is a four-movement work based on hymns from the Southern
  Harmony hymnal.
          The final piece will be John Philip Sousa's "The
  Fairest of the Fair."
          Dimnent Memorial Chapel is located on the corner
  of 12th Street and College Avenue.