The winners of athletic letters for Hope College winter sports teams have been announced.

Hope teams had an excellent winter sports season in gaining the lead in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) all-sports race. The women's basketball team captured the league championship while the men's basketball and men's and women's swimming teams finished in second in their respective races.

Six athletes lettered in their sport for a fourth consecutive year. Four-year letterwinners in basketball were Craig Veldman of Jenison (Jenison HS) and Krisitn Koenigsknecht of St. Johns (St. Johns HS). Lettering four years in swimming were Chris Dattels of Wilmette, Ill. (New Trier HS), Padric Moore of Holland Patent, N.Y. (Holland Patent Central HS), Betsy VandenBerg of Beverly Hills, Mich. (Southfield Christian HS) and Scott Vroegindewey of Kalamazoo (Portage Central HS).

Men's Basketball Letterwinners

Josh Bauman* (sophomore from Manistee, Mich./Manistee HS)
Brandon Bosscher* (sophomore from Grand Rapids., Mich./Forest Hills Central HS)
Brad Burgtorf* (sophomore from Cheboygan, Mich./Cheboygan HS)
Chad Carlson** (sophomore from Holland, Mich./Holland HS)
Cody Fleming* (sophomore from Ames, Iowa/Gilbert HS)
Tim Hoogewind* (sophomore from Wyoming, Mich./Wyoming Park HS)
Charlie Kleinheksel* (sophomore from Zeeland, Mich./Zeeland HS)
Ryan Klingler*** (senior from Holland, Mich./Holland HS)
Kyle Maas*** (senior from Hudsonville, Mich./Tri-Unity Christian HS)
Don Overbeek** (sophomore from Wyoming, Mich./Calvin Christian HS)
Matt Taylor* (freshman from Pinckney, Mich./ Pinckney HS)
Kyle VanderWall*** (senior from Hamilton, Mich./Hamilton HS)
Mike Van Hekken* (sophomore from Holland, Mich./Holland HS)
Craig Veldman**** (senior from Jenison, Mich./Jenison HS)
Chad Zagar*** (senior from Mattawan, Mich./Mattawan HS)

Women's Basketball Letterwinners

Amy Baltmanis** (sophomore from Paw Paw, Mich./Paw Paw HS)
Jodi Boom** (junior from Coopersville, Mich./Coopersville HS)
Amy Brower*** (senior from Hamilton, Mich./Hamilton HS)
Colleen Corey** (sophomore from Jenison, Mich./Jenison HS)
Laura Geurink* (freshman from Zeeland, Mich./Zeeland HS)
Kathi Grotenhuis** (sophomore from Holland, Mich./Hamilton HS)
Amanda Kerkstra** (sophomore from Grandville, Mich./Calvin Christian HS)
Kristin Koenigsknecht**** (senior from St. Johns, Mich./St. Johns HS)
Katie Nienhuis* (sophomore from Zeeland, Mich./Holland Christian HS)
Kim Pett* (sophomore from Holland, Mich./Holland Christian HS)
Laura Poppema*** (junior from Holland, Mich./Holland HS)
Becky Sutton*** (junior from Eaton Rapids, Mich./Eaton Rapids HS)
Beth Woolley** (sophomore from Coral, Mich./Lakeview HS)
Sarah Zoulek** (junior from Shelby, Mich./Shelby HS)

Basketball Cheerleader Letterwiners

Meredith Albers (freshman from Hamilton/Hamilton HS)
Josh Brandenburg (sophomore from Mt. Vernon, Ohio/Mt. Vernon HS)
Bethany Buege (junior from Evart/Evart HS)
Camy Clift (junior from Belleview/Belleview HS)
Beth Evans (junior from Winfield, Ill./West Chicago HS)
Betsie Jetter (freshman from Greenville, Ohio/Greenville HS)
Patrick Kearney (sophomore from Clinton Twp./DeLaSalle HS)
Nick Kunnen (junior from Muskegon/Reeths Puffer HS)
Kristin Sheehan (sophomore from Lansing/Holt HS)
Melissa Snyder (freshman from Mishawaka, Ind./Penn HS)
Emiko Teshima (senior from Ludington/Ludington HS)
Curtis Tyler (sophomore from Charlotte/Charlotte HS)
Ben Walters (freshman from Marshall/Marshall HS)
Brooke Wever (junior from Fremont/Fremont HS)
Andrea Witham (senior from No. Muskegon/Whitehall HS)

Men's Swimming/Diving Letterwiners

Gary Albrecht*** (junior from Jenison, Mich./Jenison HS)
Joshua Boss*** (junior from Jenison, Mich./Jenison HS)
Daniel Bouwens** (sophomore from Zeeland, Mich./Zeeland HS)
Chris Dattels**** (senior from Wilmette, Ill./New Trier HS)
Tim DeHaan** (sophomore from Haslett, Mich./Haslett HS)
Nathan Farrar*** (junior from Alma, Mich./Alma HS)
Ross Geurink* (freshman from Hudsonville, Mich./Hudsonville HS)
Chris Hamstra* (freshman from Zeeland, Mich./Zeeland HS)
Adam Hopkins*** (junior from Niles, Mich./Niles HS)
Ian Kobes* (sophomore from Holland/Holland HS)
Nathan Kooistra* (freshman from Burnsville, Minn./Burnsville HS)
Nick Lux* (freshman from Alma, Mich./Alma HS)
Adam Lyng** (sophomore from Hudsonville, Mich./Hudsonville HS)
Padric Moore**** (senior from Holland Patent, N.Y./Holland Patent Central HS)
Andrew Mullenix** (junior from Battle Creek, Mich./Harper Creek HS)
Brad Norden* (freshman from Jenison, Mich./Jenison HS)
Chris Repair* (junior from Battle Creek/Harper Creek HS)
Chris Roecker** (sophomore from Battle Creek, Mich./Lakeview HS)
BJ Schoettle* (freshman from Zeeland/Zeeland HS)
Jeff Seymour* (freshman from Holland/Holland HS)
Brian Slagh** (sophomore from Zeeland/Zeeland HS)
Matt Stolz* (freshman from Pleasant Lake/Northwest HS)
Jake Taber* (freshman from Battle Creek/Lakeview HS)
John Vinke III** (sophomore from South Holland, Ill./Thornwood HS)
Scott Vroegindewey**** (senior from Kalamazoo, Mich./Portage Central HS)
Christopher Working*** (junior from Holland, Mich./Zeeland HS)

Women's Swimming/Diving Letterwinners

Audrey Arnold* (freshman from Richmond, Ind./Richmond HS)
Lindsay Close* (freshman from Holland/West Ottawa HS)
Karen Fischer*** (junior from Northville, Mich./Northville HS)
Jennifer Franklin* (freshman from Portage, Mich./Portage Central HS)
) Sarah Keenan* (freshman from Portage, Mich./Portage Northern HS)
Haley Martin* (freshman from Battle Creek, Mich./Lakeview HS)
Kelly Parker** (sophomore from Battle Creek, Mich./Lakeview HS)
Hannah Rapson* (freshman from Iowa City, Ia./Iowa City HS)
Laura Smith*** (junior from Dearborn, Mich./Dearborn HS))
Michelle Smith* (freshman from Olympia, Wash./Home School HS)
Jennifer Strach* (freshman from Saline, Mich./Saline HS)
Melissa Sulok* (freshman from South Bend, Ind./Clay HS)
Betsy VandenBerg**** (senior from Beverly Hills, Mich./Southfield Christian HS)
Erin Vanden Berg** (sophomore from Beverly Hills, Mich./Southfield Christian HS)
Brooke Vivian** (junior from McBain/McBain HS)